Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Genealogy

A brief guide to genealogical resources in the University of Virginia Library.

Virginia Genealogy

 

  • Sources for Research in Virginia section of Jean Cooper's Virginia Genealogy; A Guide to Genealogical Resources at the University of Virginia
     
  • The Library of Virginia (LOV) is the state library located in Richmond, VA. LOV has vital records and other official records that are useful for genealogical research. Here are some links for resources at the Library of Virginia.

Library of Virginia main site (and online catalog): www.lva.virginia.gov

Library of Virginia contact page: www.lva.virginia.gov/about/contact.asp

Library of Virginia digital collection: www.virginiamemory.com

Virginia Chronicle (LVA digital newspaper collection): www.virginiachronicle.com

Virginia Chancery Court Records: www.virginiamemory.com/collections/chancery/

Virginia Untold: The African-American Narrative: http://www.virginiamemory.com/collections/aan/

LVA List of Professional Genealogists/researchers: www.lva.virginia.gov/public/proresearchers.pdf

  • edit Lost Records Localities Collection (Library of Virginia)
    The Library of Virginia has reviewed its Burned Records Counties Collection and renamed it the Lost Records Localities Collection. This collection consists of photocopies of court records for localities whose records are no longer extant or which were found in records for a different county. The photocopies are made from surviving records of the locality found in the court records of other localities as part of chancery and other locality records-processing projects. The copies are filed together in an artificial collection. Information found in the documents (locality, names, record type, and date of document) is entered into the Burned Records Counties Database and made available through the Library of Virginia's website.

    There were two reasons for the name change. 1) Not all localities lost records due to fire. Other causes for loss of records include theft, vandalism, water damage, and pest damage. 2) Not all localities that experienced a loss of records were counties. Two cities, Richmond and Williamsburg, suffered major destruction of their records. The name change more accurately reflects the content of the records found in the collection.

    During the review process, the Library of Virginia discovered additional localities that suffered extensive loss of their records such as King George County, Culpeper County, Accomack County, and Botetourt County to name a few. Photocopies of their records will be added to the Lost Records Localities Collection as they are discovered.

    For more information and a listing of lost records localities see the Research note at the following link:

    http://www.lva.virginia.gov/public/guides/rn30_lostrecords.pdf

    To search the Lost Records Localities Database, click on the following link:

    http://www.virginiamemory.com/collections/lost