Latin American & Iberian Studies
Provides annotated links to scholarly resources of particular interest to students & faculty researching at UVA
Research Guide for Latin American Iberian Studies at UVA
Understanding Latin American & Iberian
- Encyclopedias & General Sources - Concise overviews on a wide variety of topics
- Readers, Companions, & Handbooks - can assist with developing topic's comprehension
- Language Acquisition - Dictionaries, Manuals, Grammar, etc.
Researching Latin American & Iberian
- Articles (How to find) - Databases, Gateways & Portals that let you search about your topic in periodicals, edited books, webs, and elsewhere
- Books (How to identify & locate) - Besides Virgo, how can you find out if a book exists on your topic? You can search different online global catalogs.
- eBooks (How to find) - Commercial & Open Access databases to find eBooks
Finding basic but essential information
- Bio-bibliographies and Biographies - Finding biographies of people & lists of materials in a subject
- Dissertations & PhD Thesis - Finding other PhD thesis in your topic
- Statistics & Country Data - Finding basic Info & Statistics about any related country
- Archives: How to locate & research - Finding Archives when working with primary sources
- Searching for funding, mentoring & support - Tools to find research funding on and off campus
Mass Media, Newspapers & News
- Current News - Databases to research contemporary newspapers, radios, etc
- News & Newspapers Archives - Organized Geographically by Region
Primary Sources & Historical Documents
- By country - Organized Geographically by Country
- Maps - Databases to search historical maps
- LACLI: A Web Resource Discovery - warehouse of online free e-resources
Specific Geographical Areas
Specific Subjects related to Latin American and Iberian Studies:
- Aljamiado or Aljamia Texts
- Film Studies
- Indigenous Cultures
- Linguistics (Spanish)
- Translation Studies
- Visual Arts, Architecture and Performing Arts
- Colonial Studies
- Human Rights in Latin America
- Language & Literature
- Philosophy
- Politics (including U.S. - Latin American Relations)
- Women's, Gender, & LGBT Studies
This Research Guide includes collections about Latin America, Caribbean, Portugal and Spain held in the University of Virginia libraries.
Its main purpose is to support UVA students, faculty, and researchers in courses, programs and research initiatives that focus on these regions and on the study of global processes and topics.
We hope this Guide will serve you as a useful door for these related UVA collections.
If you have questions, or suggestions, please email: Miguel A. Valladares Llata (mav4n@virginia.edu)