3b.9 - Translation Studies - Latin American & Iberian Studies

Translation Studies

_______________________________________________________________________________________________
Translation Studies

BITRA: Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation.
This free database indexes scholarship in the fields of Translation and Interpretting. It contains over 35,000 entires. Created and maintained by the faculty at the Universitat d'Alacant in Spain.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________
Language and Literature Databases

MLA International Bibliography.
Classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926
more...less...
Examples:
gsu("English language translation") and spanish
gsu("English language translation") and spanish and garcia marquez
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Search for journal articles on all aspects of the nature and use of language. Includes book reviews. Updated monthly.
Dialnet
Dialnet es un portal de difusión de la producción científica hispana que inició su funcionamiento en el año 2001 especializado en ciencias humanas y sociales. Su base de datos, de acceso libre, fue creada por la Universidad de La Rioja (España) y constituye una hemeroteca virtual que contiene los índices de las revistas científicas y humanísticas de España, Portugal y Latinoamérica, incluyendo también libros (monografías), tesis doctorales, homenajes y otro tipo de documentos. El texto completo de muchos de los documentos está disponible en línea.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________
General Databases including useful information

Proquest (Portal - Megasearch)
AProQuest offers UVa faculty, staff, and students access to 51 separate databases, covering numerous fields from the hard sciences to social sciences, as well as newspapers, government records, and statistical data.
Academic Search Complete
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.

Traducción, competencia plurilingüe y español como lengua de herencia (ELH) | eBook |
Laura Gasca Jiménez. New York, NY : Routledge, 2022. xiii, 192 pages. ISBN: 9781003081494
more...less...
" "Traducción, competencia plurilingüe y español como lengua de herencia (ELH) explores the connections between Spanish heritage language (SHL) education and translation competence. The volume identifies strategies to represent the linguistic experiences and practices of SHL students in the context of professional translation and interpreting training. Based on an empirical study with undergraduate students, this monograph provides insight on how to develop translation skills in three ways: as a plurilingual strategy, a pedagogical activity, and a professional skill. Because of its introductory nature, this book is of particular interest to SHL teachers and researchers seeking to systematically integrate translation practice into their teaching. Likewise, teachers of translation and interpreting who wish to learn how to enhance mediation as a learning component in translation and interpreting skills will find numerous suggestions on how to do so in this volume"--
Mundos En Palabras: Learning Advanced Spanish Through Translation | eBook |
Ángeles Carreres, María Noriega-Sánchez, Carme Calduch ; Spanish List Advisor: Javier Muñoz-Basols. London : Routledge, 2018 , xxi, 407 pages, ISBN: 9781351668026
more...less...
"Mundo en palabras offers advanced students of Spanish a challenging but practical course in translation from English into Spanish. The course offers students a well-structured, step-by-step guide to Spanish translation which will enhance and refine their language skills while introducing them to some of the key concepts and issues surrounding translation. The first two chapters serve to contextualize the practical tasks that follow by introducing students to the nature of translation and the issues that they are likely to encounter. The chapters that follow cover common areas of difficulty including:common grammatical errors calques and loan wordsdenotations and connotations idioms cultural referencesstyle and register. Each chapter presents a different translation issue supported by a variety of practical tasks including shorter targeted activities and lengthier translation practice. A wealth of relevant sample material is presented from a range of text types that undergraduates are likely to encounter, including literary, expository, persuasive and journalistic texts. A Companion Website with a wealth of additional resources for students and teachers, including class handouts, sample translations, additional practice texts and activities, and suggestions for futher reading, is available at www.routledge.com/cw/carreres. Mundos en palabras is ideal for advanced undergraduate students of Spanish who wish to acquire translation competence while enhancing their linguistic skills."--Provided by publisher..
Thinking Spanish translation : a course in translation method, Spanish to English |eBook|
Louise M. Haywood, Michael Thompson, Sándor Hervey.. New York : Routledge, 2009. 2nd edition. xvi, 288 pages. ISBN: 9781299140653
more...less...
The new edition of this comprehensive course in Spanish-English translation offers advanced students of Spanish a challenging yet practical approach to the acquisition of translation skills, with clear explanations of the theoretical issues involved. A variety of translation issues are addressed, including: cultural differences; index and dialect; grammatical differences; genre. With a sharper focus, clearer definitions and an increased emphasis on up-to-date 'real world' translation tasks, this second edition features a wealth of relevant illustrative material taken from a wide range of sources, both Latin American and Spanish, including technical, scientific and legal texts; journalistic and informative texts; and literary and dramatic texts..
Introduction to Spanish translation / | eBook |
Jack Child. Lanham, MD : University Press of America, 2010, 2nd edition. 262 pages. ISBN: 9780761848981
more...less...
"ntroduction to Spanish Translation is designed for a third or fourth year college Spanish course. It presents the history, theory and practice of Spanish-to-English translation (with some consideration of English-to-Spanish translation). The very successful first edition of the text evolved from the author's experiences in two decades of teaching translation in the Department of Language and Foreign Studies of The American University. The emphasis is on general material to be found in current journals and newspapers, although there is also some specialized material from the fields of business, the social sciences, and literature. The twenty-four lessons in the text form the basis for a fourteen-week semester course. This newly revised edition contains an index, a glossary, examples of cognates and partial cognates, and translation exercises for each lesson
Translation studies | eBook |
Susan Bassnett-McGuire. London ; New York : Routledge, 2002. 3rd edition. 176 pages. ISBN: 9780415280136
more...less...
"Central Issues. Types of translation. Language and culture. Decoding and recoding. Problems of equivalence. Loss and gain. Untranslatability. Science or 'secondary activity'? -- 2. History of Translation Theory. Problems of 'period study'. The Romans. Bible translation. Education and the vernacular. Early theorists. The Renaissance. The seventeenth century. The eighteenth century. Romanticism. Post-Romanticism. The Victorians. Archaizing. The twentieth century -- 3. Specific Problems of Literary Translation. Structures. Poetry and translation. Translating prose. Translating dramatic texts -- Appendix: The original text of The Seafarer.

Index Translationum
The database contains cumulative bibliographical information on books translated and published in about one hundred of the UNESCO Member States between 1979 and 2009 and totals more than 2.000.000 entries in all disciplines: literature, social and human sciences, natural and exact sciences, art, history and so forth.
WorldCat (OCLC)
WorldCat is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories that participate in the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) global cooperative.
more...less...
Examples: subject: Translating and interpreting and subject: : Spanish

_______________________________________________________________________________________________
English language

Oxford English Dictionary: OED Online.
Has definitions for most of the words in the English language but also information on their origins and quotations showing their range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present.
Dictionary of American Regional English
DARE focuses on the regional aspects of American English, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. This online version provides interactive maps, audio field recordings, and fielded searching.
Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases.
by Roget, Peter Mark. Cambridge University Press, xl, 418 pages. Facsimile of thefirst edition: London: Longman, Brown, Green, and Longmans, 1852.
The thesaurus, continually expanded and updated, has always remained in print, but this reissued first edition shows the impressive breadth of Roget's own knowledge and interests.

If you need to find more English language resources, please consult : The English language and literature Subject guide _______________________________________________________________________________________________

Language reference

Language Realm
The Language Realm is devoted to providing information about language, linguistics, translation, interpretation, language learning, and communications, as well as specific content for English, Spanish, French, German, Latin, Japanese, and Chinese.
more...less...
The mission of the Language Realm is to offer fascinating articles and information about language in general, and the Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Latin, and Spanish languages in particular. In addition, the Language Realm also offers complete, current information about the translation and interpretation professions, machine translation, and linguistics
Linguee
Linguee is an online bilingual concordance that provides an online dictionary for a number of language pairs, including many bilingual sentence pairs. As a translation aid, Linguee differs from machine translation services like Babelfish and is more similar in function to a translation memory. Linguee is operated by Cologne-based Linguee GmbH, which was established in Cologne in December 2008.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________
Journals

TranscUlturAl a journal of translation and cultural studies
Edmonton, Alta. : Univ of Alberta. 2008-
TRANS. Revista de Traductología
Universidad de Malaga, 1996-
more...less...
Difunde trabajos científicos de diversa procedencia relacionados con las diferentes manifestaciones de la interpretación y traducción de lenguas, de la traducción audiovisual, de la traducción intersemiótica, del contacto entre culturas y de la retórica comparada.

Latin American & Iberian Studies

Translation Studies

Scholarship

Manuals

Finding a work

Anglo Resources

Associations, Centers, Journals, etc.

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites