Latin American & Iberian Studies

• The most important biographical tool

• About Literary Authors

• Other tools

• Spain and Latin America

• Italy

Oxford Bibliographies Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

You can search your topic in +50 bibliographies included in Oxford Bibliographies Online

You can also read the specific bibliography about Latin American Studies

Below you will find the index for the Latin American Studies bibliography with direct links. Be aware this index has been created during march 2021: check always author and date for every entry since they are modify constantly and fields evolve over time.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Index for Latin American Studies bibliography:

Cities

• Asunción
• Bogotá
• Buenos Aires
• Cali
• Caracas
• Cartagena de Indias
• Guatemala City
• Havana
• Latin America’s Urbanization in the 20th Century
• Latin American Urbanism, 1850-1950
• São Paulo
• Urban History

Economics and Development

• Agricultural Technologies
• Dependency Theory in Latin American History
• Drug Trades in Latin America
• Economies from Independence to Industrialization
• Poverty in Latin America
• Science and Technology in Modern Latin America
• Spanish and Portuguese Trade, 1500–1750

Gender and Sexuality

• Gender in Colonial Brazil
• Gender in Postcolonial Latin America
• Honor in Latin America, to 1900
• Sexualities in Latin America and the Caribbean
• Women and Labor in 20th-Century Latin America
• Women in Colonial Latin American History
• Women in Modern Latin American History
• Women's Property Rights, Asset Ownership, and Wealth in Latin America

Important Persons

• Andrés Bello
• Bartolomé de las Casas
• Cárdenas and Cardenismo
• Fernando de Alva Ixtlilxochitl
• Getúlio Vargas
• Hernán Cortés
• Hugo Chávez and the Bolivarian Revolution in Venezuela
• José María Arguedas and Early 21st Century Cultural and Political Theories
• José Martí and Cuba
• Juan Manuel de Rosas
• Perón and Peronism
• Ponce de León
• Rafael Trujillo

Literary Studies

• 19th Century and Modernismo Poetry in Spanish America
• 19th Century Haitian Novel
• Antislavery Narratives
• Argentine Literature
• Argentinian Literature
• Asian-Peruvian Literature
• Baroque and Neo-baroque Literary Tradition
• Chronology of the Venezuelan Novel
• From "National Culture" to the "National Popular" and the Andean Novel (1889-1950)
• Gaucho Literature
• Indigenous Voices in Literature
• La Generación del 30 in Ecuador
• Latin American Theater and Performance
• Machado de Assis
• Magical Realism
• Mestizaje and the Legacy of José María Arguedas
• Modernity and Decoloniality
• Octavio Paz
• Printing and the Book
• Puerto Rican Literature
• Roberto Bolaño
• Spanish American Arab Literature
• The Caribbean Philosophical Association
• The Chronicle
• The Colombian Novel
• The Novel of the Mexican Revolution
• Transculturation and Literature
• Venezuelan Literature

Politics and Public Policy

• Andean Contributions to Rethinking the State and the Nation
• Colonial Legal History of Peru
• Crime and Punishment in Colonial Latin America
• Human Rights in Latin America
• Law and Society in Latin America since 1800
• Legal History of New Spain, 16th-17th Centuries
• Legal History of the State and Church in 18th-Century New Spain
• Mexican Nationalism
• Mexican-US Relations
• Military Government in Latin America, 1959–1990
• Modern Populism in Latin America
• Neoliberalism
• State and Nation Formation in Pre-Revolutionary Mexico
• The Indigenous Population and Justice System in Central Mexico and Oaxaca
• The New Left in Latin America

Pre-history, History, and historiography

• 16th-Century New Spain
• 19th Century Caudillos
• Abolition
• Ancient Andean Textiles
• Army of Chile in the 19th Century
• Atlantic Creoles
• Chaco War
• Chile's Struggle for Independence
• Colonial Central America
• Colonial New Granada
• Colonial Peru
• Colonial Portuguese Amazon Region, from the 17th to 18th Centuries
• Conquest and Colonial Oaxaca
• Conquest of Borderlands in Latin America
• Conquest of Guatemala and Yucatan
• Conquest of Mexico
• Conquest of Peru
• Costa Rica
• Ecuador
• El Salvador
• Environmental History
• Family History
• Guatemala (Colonial Period)
• Guatemala (Modern & National Period)
• History of Children
• History of Health and Disease in Modern Latin America
• History of the Brazilian Northeast
• Indigenous Elites in the Colonial Andes
• Latin American Independence
• Maroon Societies in Latin America
• Mining
• Native Presence in Postconquest Central Peru
• Paraguayan War (War of the Triple Alliance)
• Philippines Under Spanish Rule, 1571-1898
• Pilgrimage in Colonial Latin America
• Piracy
• Popular Movements in 19th-Century Latin America
• Post-Conquest Aztecs
• Post-Conquest Demographic Collapse
• Preconquest Incas
• Revolution and Reaction in Central America
• Santo Domingo
• Science and Empire in the Iberian Atlantic
• Slavery in Argentina
• Slavery in Brazil
• Slavery in Peru
• Spanish Florida
• Telenovelas and Melodrama in Latin America
• The Arab Diaspora in Latin America
• The Archaeology of the Caribbean
• The Black Experience in Colonial Latin America
• The Black Experience in Modern Latin America
• The Bourbon Reforms
• The Cádiz Constitution and Liberalism
• The California Missions
• The Caste War of Yucatán
• The Contemporary Maya
• The Cuban Revolution
• The Dutch in South America and the Caribbean
• The Era of Porfirio Díaz, 1876–1911
• The Haitian Revolution
• The Mexican Revolution, 1910–1940
• The Military and Modern Latin America
• The Military Institution in Colonial Latin America
• The New Conquest
• History and the New Philology in Colonial Mesoamerica
• The Pre-conquest Mesoamerican States
• The Sandinista Revolution and the FSLN
• The Spanish Caribbean In The Colonial Period
• The Spiritual Conquest of Latin America
• The Tupac Amaru Rebellion
• The United States and Castro's Cuba in the Cold War
• The United States and the Guatemalan Revolution
• The United States Invasion of the Dominican Republic, 1961–1966
• U.S.-Latin American Relations During the Cold War
• Uruguay
• Venezuela
• Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas

Religion, Culture, and Society

• Andean Music
• Argentina in the Era of Mass Immigration
• Asian Art and Its Impact in the Americas, 1565–1840
• Beauty in Latin America
• Contemporary Brazilian Cinema
• Contemporary Indigenous Social and Political Thought
• Cultural History
• Early Colonial Forms of Native Expression in Mexico and Peru
• Education in Mexico
• Education in New Spain
• Food History
• Football (Soccer) in Latin America
• Franciscans in Colonial Latin America
• Horror in Literature and Film in Latin America
• Immigration in Latin America
• Japanese Presence in Latin America
• Jesuits in Colonial Latin America
• Latin American Cinema
• Migration to the United States
• Modern Decorative Arts and Design, 1900–2000
• Painting in New Spain, 1521–1820
• Pastoralism in the Andes
• Photography in the History of Race and Nation
• Political Exile in Latin America
• Popular Culture and Globalization
• Prints and the Circulation of Colonial Images
• Protestantism in Latin America
• Quipu
• Religions in Latin America
• Science Fiction Film
• South American Missions
• Spanish Colonial Decorative Arts, 1500-1825
• Sports in Latin America and the Caribbean
• Textile Traditions of the Andes
• The Arab Diaspora in Brazil
• The Church in Colonial Latin America
• The Development of Architecture in New Spain, 1500–1810
• The Development of Painting in Peru, 1520–1820
• The Enlightenment and its Visual Manifestations in Spanish America
• The Guaraní and Their Legacy
• The Jewish Presence in Latin America
• The Musical Tradition in Latin America