Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latin American & Iberian Studies

Provides annotated links to scholarly resources of particular interest to students & faculty researching at U.Va.

ELECTRONIC FULL TEXT ARCHIVES TO SEARCH FOR NEWS PUBLISHED IN LATIN AMERICA, SPAIN AND PORTUGAL

Databases and Digital "Hemerotecas" (Newspaper Archives) ---
A selections of tools to find full text newpapers, magazines and historical journals.
Select the geographical area where these tools are created
Remember, you need to be aware that important Latin American titles can be found also under Spain.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

   Brazil   

  

   Colombia   

  

   Costa Rica   

  

   Caribbean   

  • Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
    CNDL provides access to digitized newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials from the Caribbean and Latin America. Includes significant content from Aruba, Bahamas, Brazil, Cuba, Haiti, Panama, and many Caribbean countries.

  

   Cuba   

  • La Gaceta de La Habana
    Digitlaized by University of Miami, La Gaceta de La Habana was the newspaper of record for the Spanish colonial government in the second half of the nineteenth century in Cuba..
  • Maceo : semanario político independiente
    Cuba -- History -- Revolution, 1895-1898 -- Periodicals. digitalized from Harvard). Año 1, no. 1 (13 de oct. de 1898)-año 1, no. 9 (15 de dic. de 1898).

  

   Mexico

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Digital "Hemerotecas" (Newspaper Archives) --- (Newspapers & magazines published in Spain or Latin America)

Andalusia .. Andalucia
Asturias -- Asturies -- Asturias
Basque country -- Euskadi-- Pais Vasco
Canary Islands -- Canarias

Castile-León & Castile-La Mancha -- Castilla y León & Castlla la Mancha

Catalonia - Catalunya - Cataluña
Galician .. Galiza -- Galicia
Madrid
Murcia
Valencia comunity -- Comunitat Valenciana -- Comunidad Valencia

________________________________________________________________________________
Digital "Hemerotecas" : Mostly magazines

________________________________________________________________________________
Digital "Hemerotecas" : Single newspaper

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Publicações periódicas digitalizadas
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Great Britain

ARCHIVES TO SEARCH FOR TITLES PUBLISHED IN LATIN AMERICA, SPAIN AND PORTUGAL

Where to find periodicals that only exits in print ---
Here you can find selected bibliographies, catalogs, archives and hemerotecas that will help you to identify a specific title. All resources are organized by geographical area of creation.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Cuba