Latin American & Iberian Studies

Provides annotated links to scholarly resources of particular interest to students & faculty researching at UVA

Indigenous Languages & Literatures in Mexico, Central & South America

Languages of the World

Glottolog -[web]
Comprehensive reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages.

more... less...

Some examples for main indigenous languages:
Language Family: Mayan]
Language Family: Quechuan]
Language Family: Aymaran]
Language Family: Araucanian]
Ethnologue -[web]
Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages. Since 1951, the Ethnologue has been an active research project involving hundreds of linguists and other researchers around the world. It is widely regarded to be the most comprehensive source of information of its kind.
The World Loanword Database (WOLD) -[web]
It provides vocabularies (mini-dictionaries of about 1000-2000 entries) of 41 languages from around the world, with comprehensive information about the loanword status of each word. It allows users to find loanwords, source words and donor languages in each of the 41 languages, but also makes it easy to compare loanwords across languages.

more... less...

The World Loanword Database, edited by Martin Haspelmath and Uri Tadmor, is a scientific publication by the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Leipzig (2009).
The World Loanword Database is the result of a collaborative project coordinated by Uri Tadmor and Martin Haspelmath between 2004 and 2008, called the Loanword Typology Project (LWT). Most of the contributors took part in workshops at which the procedures for selecting and annotating words were discussed extensively. The list of 1460 meanings on which the vocabularies are based is called the Loanword Typology meaning list, and it is in turn based on the list of the Intercontinental Dictionary Series.
OLAC, the Open Language Archives Community -[web]
is an international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources by: (i) developing consensus on best current practice for the digital archiving of language resources, and (ii) developing a network of interoperating repositories and services for housing and accessing such resources.

Languages of the World: The Americas

Diccionario Etnolingüístico y Guía Bibliográfica de los Pueblos Indígenas Sudamericanos - [web]
Alain Fabre's bibliography has been elaborated since the 1990s, with the help of contibutions from experts. This is a a continually updated electronic version. The collection contains entries of linguistics and ethnography of South American Indian peoples.

more... less...

Earlier versions have appeared as:
Fabre, Alain. Las Lenguas Indígenas Sudamericanas en la Actualidad: Diccionario Etnolingüístico Clasificatorio y Guía Bibliográfica. Tampere. 1994. 2 vol.
Fabre, Alain. Manual de las lenguas indígenas sudamericanas, I-II (LINCOM Handbooks in Linguistics 4-5). München: Lincom. 1998 2 vol.
Manual de las lenguas indígenas sudamericanas / Alain Fabre - [print]
München : Lincom Europa, 1998. 2 volumes. Shannon. PM5008 .F32 1998
The Indigenous Languages of South America: A Comprehensive Guide - [eBook]
Edited by Lyle Campbell, Verónica Grondona. Berlin ; Boston : Mouton de Gruyter, c2012..

No in enough? : Search Virgo -- the UVA Online Catalog under Subject: "Indians of South America" Languages.

____________________________________________________________________________________________;

SIL Brazil -[web]
more... less...

Brazil is home to 216 living languages! With over half a century of history, SIL Brazil works in partnership with other nonprofit and academic organizations for the benefit of indigenous people groups through language analysis and translation, media production, workshops and training.

Browse the Language and Culture Archive collection of linguistic papers available for free download. SIL makes these research results accessible to benefit local communities and the world. Language maps, linguistic analysis, language research software and fonts are also available.

SIL International is committed to serving ethnolinguistic minority communities, primarily through training and consulting for activities such as linguistic analysis, orthography development, literature production, literacy and multilingual education.

Academia de las Lenguas Mayas de Guatemala -[organisation]
Guatemalan organisation founded in 1990 that regulates the use of the 22 Mayan languages spoken within the borders of the republic. It has expended particular efforts on standardising the various writing systems used.[1] Another of its functions is to promote Mayan culture, which it does by providing courses in the country's various Mayan languages and by training Spanish-Mayan interpreters.

American Indian & Indigenous Studies

Visit the following LibGuide to find General resources about AMERICAN INDIAN & INDIGENOUS STUDIES