Latin American & Iberian Studies

In 1998 Abuelas de Plaza de Mayo promoted the creation of the Family Biographical Archive with the aim of reconstructing the life history of the disappeared whose children, born in captivity or kidnapped along with their parents, were appropriated during the last military dictatorship.

Archivo digital de las Violaciones a los Derechos Humanos por la Dictadura Militar en Chile (1973-1990)

The Museum of Memory and Human Rights is a Chilean museum located in Santiago, dedicated to commemorate the victims of human rights violations during the civic-military regime led by Augusto Pinochet between 1973 and 1990
Don´t forget to consult the museum´s Centro de Documentación
and Testimonios Audiovisuales Interviews documenting human rights abuses during the Pinochet era.

Correspondence, project files, subject files, and publications documenting the human rights activism of the Rabbi Marshall T. Meyer in 1970s and 1980s Argentina

contains 22 core collections of declassified documents, including several collections on human rights and drug policies in Latin American-US relations.

A Presidential Tasking from the Executive Secretary of the National Security Council (NSC) on June 13, 2016, directed various Executive branch departments and agencies, including the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), to search for records relating to human rights abuses committed in Argentina between January 1, 1975, and December 31, 1984, and to review responsive records for public access.

Over 80,000 searchable documents reviewed and released to the public. The Virtual Reading Room also includes links to resources in and outside the Department of State, including a link to declassified department records available online at the National Archives and Records Administration.

WIKILEAKS Public Library of US Diplomacy; includes over 2 million records from a variety of sources, including FOIA documents, leaks, and documents declassified by the US State Department - many of these materials were previously released on the National Archives' website

You have access to reports, publications and data about:

• the Human Development Index (HDI),
  
• the Gender Inequality Index (GII),
  
• the Multidimentional Poverty Index (MPI),
  
• the Inequality Adjusted Hu

Digitized documents from the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive (AHPN) that aim to facilitate scholarly and legal research into a vast cache of historical documentation. The discovery of the National Police Historical Archive in 2005 opened an extensive and timely resource for the study of Guatemalan history and human rights in the region, spanning a broad array of topics from Guatemala's armed conflict between 1960 and 1996 to the sexually transmitted disease experiments performed at the behest of the United States government in the 1940s. The Archive is presented online here for the first time.

IThe Mexican Migration Project (MMP) was created in 1982 by an interdisciplinary team of researchers to further our understanding of the complex process of Mexican migration to the United States. The project is a binational research effort co-directed by Jorge Durand, professor of Social Anthropology at the University of Guadalajara (Mexico), and Douglas S. Massey, professor of Sociology and Public Affairs, with a joint appointment in the Woodrow Wilson School, at Princeton University (US).

Se espera que para el año 2022 el Museo abra sus puertas en Bogotá. Desde hace décadas, las víctimas, sus organizaciones y comunidades han trabajado para que los hechos de violencia y sus resilencias sean conocidos y que no se repitan.

Archivo Virtual de Derechos Humanos, Memoria Histórica y Conflicto. Aquí encontrará las voces de distintas comunidades y poblaciones a través de testimonios, entrevistas, cartas, manuscritos, noticias de prensa, televisivas y radiales; materiales desarrollados en talleres de memoria, fotografías, cantos, audiovisuales, libros, revistas, piezas comunicativas y copias de expedientes judiciales, compartidos por líderes comunitarios, organizaciones sociales, entidades públicas, investigadores del Centro Nacional de Memoria Histórica (CNMH) y ciudadanos con documentos de interés.

Human Rights Watch (HRW) is an international non-governmental organization, headquartered in New York City, that conducts research and advocacy on human rights.[1] The group pressures some governments, policy makers and human rights abusers to denounce abuse and respect human rights, and the group often works on behalf of refugees, children, migrants and political prisoners.
Reserchable database. Check Reports tab and search by keyword, country etc

"Most states in the Americas support and have ratified human rights standards and treaties, but for millions the promise of rights remains hollow. Social and political problems such as discrimination, violence, inequality, conflict, insecurity, poverty and environmental damage are just some of the challenges that are creating a human rights crisis across the region".
You can search this site (advance search is better) or you can browse Resources: 1. Media Centre. 2. Wire Magazine. 3. Annual Report 2017/2018. 4. Human Rights Education. 5. Human Rights Courses

Present human rights information and documents by country

WOLA is a leading research and advocacy organization advancing human rights in the Americas.

A advocacy coalition of 65 U.S. organizations concerned with an improved policy of human rights, peace and justice towards Latin America. Contains links to .pdfs. Many reports on a wide range of subjects.

"Founded in 1959, the CIDH ( IACHR in english) is a principal and autonomous organ of the Organization of American States (“OAS”) whose mission is to promote and protect human rights in the American hemisphere.
Consult the Country Reports since 1962

Equipo Nizkor is an international organization working for the respect and promotion of human rights in different topics and areas. Our work includes the socialization of human rights information, the investigation of human rights abuses, the development of international human rights law, the preservation of memory and the fight against impunity.

The Inter-American Court of Human Rights is an autonomous judicial institution based in the city of San José, Costa Rica. Founded: May 22, 1969

institución académica dedicada a la investigación, la promoción y la educación en derechos humanos. Tiene su sede en San José de Costa Rica. Su creación se hizo posible en 1980 gracias a un convenio suscrito entre la CIDH y la República de Costa Rica. El objetivo de esta organización es asegurar su actualidad y vigencia ante una realidad que ha experimentado cambios sustanciales.

The Digital Library provides access to UN-produced content including UN documents and publications. Its content has been indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library, the Library of the UN Office at Geneva and the ESCWA Library. Links to full text appear when available. Voting information for resolutions adopted by the General Assembly and Security Council, and citation to speeches made in the principal organs.
Coverage: 1979 onward (older documents are being added to the UN Digital LIbrary on a regular basis as a result of retrospective conversion). Includes resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council from 1946 onward.

The United Nations iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations.
The United Nations iLibrary is a comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs. Topics include: Agriculture Rural Development and Forestry, Children and Youth, Democracy and Governance, Disarmament, Drugs, Crime and Terrorism, Economic and Social Development, Environment and Climate Change, Human Rights and Refugees, Human Settlements and Urban Issues, International Law and Justice, International Trade and Finance, Migration, Natural Resources, Water and Energy, Peacekeeping and Security, Population and Demography, Public Health, Transportation and Public Safety, United Nations, Women and Gender Issues.

More than 450 statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics

Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Educación, la Ciencia y la Cultura (UNESCO) Digital Library provides access to publications, documents and other materials either produced by UNESCO or pertaining to UNESCO’s fields of competence. These collections are accessible online or physically - at the library or the archives room.

Information on measures taken at the international, regional and national levels, including: international and regional instruments, case law, legal measures adopted by States, as well as information on policy and institutional measures to combat racism, racial discrimination, xenophobia and related intolerance.
Scope
The areas covered by the database include measures to address racism and racial discrimination at the international, regional and national level.
Content
The content of the database illustrates existing measures and practices to combat address racism, racial discrimination, xenophobia and related intolerance at the international, regional and national levels but does not seek to provide a comprehensive picture of the situation.
Specifically, the database includes:

• The texts of relevant international and regional instruments
  
• Information on existing avenues for remedy, recourse, redress and compensation
  
• Relevant decisions of international, regional and national courts
  
• The texts of legal measures adopted by States (including anti-discrimination legislation, constitutional law and other type of legal measures)
  
• Documents containing information on policy measures (including National Action Plans against racial discrimination, National Action Plans on Human Rights containing anti-discrimination provisions, strategies and programmes and national papers)
  
• Information on institutional measures (including ministries, NHRIs, equality bodies, secretaries, committees, working groups, networks, focal points, others
  
• links to their websites are also included when available)
  
• Existing measures categorized under different thematic areas. The classification of these thematic areas was based on those identified in the Durban Declaration and Programme of Action
  

English is used throughout the database. When available, official texts are included in their original language, including French, Spanish, Arabic, Chinese, etc.

Database including official documents from the UN UN Charter-based bodies .
The Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) works to offer the best expertise and support to the different human rights monitoring mechanisms in the United Nations system : UN Charter-based bodies , including the Human Rights Council, and bodies created under the international human rights treaties and made up of independent experts mandated to monitor State parties' compliance with their treaty obligations. Most of these bodies receive secretariat support from the Human Rights Council and Treaties Division of the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR).

This database provides easy access to jurisprudence emanating from the United Nations Treaty Bodies which receive and consider complaints from individuals: the Human Rights Committee (CCPR), the Committee against Torture (CAT), the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD), the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD), the Committee on Enforced Disappearances (CED), the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR), and the Committee on the Rights of the Child (CRC).

The jurisprudence database is intended to be a single source of the human rights recommendations and findings issued by all above committees in their work on individual cases. It enables the general public, governments, civil society organizations, United Nations partners and international regional mechanisms to research the vast body of legal interpretation of international human rights law as it has evolved over the past years.

UN Treaty Body Database

There are nine core international human rights treaties, the most recent one -- on enforced disappearance -- entered into force on 23 December 2010. Since the adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights in 1948, all UN Member States have ratified at least one core international human rights treaty, and 80 percent have ratified four or more.

There are currently ten human rights treaty bodies, which are committees of independent experts. Nine of these treaty bodies monitor implementation of the core international human rights treaties while the tenth treaty body, the Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture, established under the Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture, monitors places of detention in States parties to the Optional Protocol.

The treaty bodies are created in accordance with the provisions of the treaty that they monitor. OHCHR supports the work of treaty bodies and assists them in harmonizing their working methods and reporting requirements through their secretariats.

There are other United Nations bodies and entities involved in the promotion and protection of human rights

The database provides easy access to country-specific human rights information emanating from international human rights mechanisms in the United Nations system: the Treaty Bodies, the Special Procedures and the Universal Periodic Review (UPR).
This tool aims at raising awareness of the human rights recommendations coming from these mechanisms and assisting governments, civil society organizations, national human rights institutions, and United Nations partners with their implementation. The Index allows the user to find out about human rights issues worldwide, and to see how the legal interpretation of international human rights law has evolved over the past ten years.

You have access to reports, publications and data about:

• the Human Development Index (HDI),
  
• the Gender Inequality Index (GII),
  
• the Multidimentional Poverty Index (MPI),
  
• the Inequality Adjusted Hu

This HTML Database has been prepared by Equipo Nizkor and it focuses on the domestic implementation of International Criminal Law for the most serious crimes under international law i.e. crimes against peace (or the crime of aggression), crimes against humanity, genocide and war crimes. It provides access on a country-by-country basis to the relevant domestic legislation, as well as to applicable judicial decisions and jurisprudence. The purpose of this open Internet database is to foster the application of international criminal law by domestic jurisdictions for these grave crimes.

Repositorio de textos digitales seleccionados, estructurados, sistematizados y digitalizados en el que se incluyen revistas, artículos y libros de diferentes entidades