Latin American & Iberian Studies

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. The dLOC partner institutions are the core of dLOC. dLOC partners retain all rights to their materials and provide access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Digital Collections unite, in one searchable location, over 40,000 digital scholarly resources unique to the University of Miami. Rich in content related to the cultural history of South Florida, Cuba, and the Caribbean, these collections comprise photographs, correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, books, audio and video recordings, and other materials selected and digitized from special collections held in the Otto G. Richter Library, Calder Medical Library, and University Archives, as well as digital projects developed in collaboration with teaching faculty to support academic teaching and learning.

Organized by Duke University, you can consult here "materials from (or related to) the migration by sea of Cubans, Dominicans, and Haitians, including the refugee camp for Cuban and Haitian rafters that existed in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, largely dating from 1991-1996. Collection includes camp newspapers and artwork created by refugees held at Guantánamo Bay, Cuba; materials from the U.S. Coast Guard and other military sources, such as newspapers written in Haitian Creole, photocopies of camp rules and refugee intake procedures, and a transcript from an introductory video shown to refugees arriving at the camps; magazines and media coverage of refugee situations, including some material on Elián González; photographs and slides of refugees, Coast Guard personnel, and conditions in the camps in Cuba. Refugees arriving in Miami are included as are photographs of the work of the Guantanámo Refugee Assistance and Services Program in Miami and in the camps in Guantánamo Bay".