Curry School: Promotion and Tenure Resources

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
JCR provided by the publisher, Thomson Reuter provides impact factor, ranking information, and 5-year trends for journals in the social sciences, science and humanities. Tutorial.

SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR)
SJR is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier).  This platform takes its name from the SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) indicator, developed by SCImago from the widely known algorithm Google PageRank™.   Education journals.

Eigenfactor
Eigenfactor scores and Article Influence scores rank journals much as Google ranks websites. Scholarly references join journals together in a network of citations. Algorithms use the structure of the entire network (instead of purely local citation information) to evaluate the importance of each journal.

 As a researcher, you will be encouraged to publish in quality, high impact scholarly journals. In some cases providing the Journal's Impact factor will suffice. In other instances, you case consider providng information to demonstrate the importance of the journal to those in your field of study by providing examples of quality indicators.

Quality indicators

• Audience – Identify who reads the journal in which you published? Are you impacting teachers, researchers, policy makers, etc.

• Peer review – is the journal in which you published peer reviewed /refereed?

• Journal indexing – where and how widely the journal is indexed

• Circulation count – how many people subscribe to the journal

•  Is this the main publication of a flagship organization for your discipline?

• Acceptance rate - what percentage of articles submitted for publication are actually published? Publisher websites often provide this information, if not contact the Curry Librarians 434-924-7040.

• Editor and editorial board - are they well-known and respected in the field?

• Does the publisher provide altmetrics on their website such as number of times your article has been downloaded or cited by  by people using the web site to access your article, for example by those using the PsycINFO database?

  Publishers' Web Sites

• Sage Journals. This site provides information about ranking and impact factors for journals published by Sage Publishing.

• If the journal is not an APA or Sage journal, one of the best ways to locate current information on a journal's acceptance rate, number of subscribers, impact factor, etc. is to visit the journal publisher's website, for example, to find the publisher's website for the  Journal of School Psychology.  you could

1. Enter the web address for the publisher and look for the tab or section featuring journals they publish, for example,
   
   http://www.elsevier.com/  or http:www.aera.net/ 

2.    Use Google to locate the publisher's web page.  For example, enter the journal's title in the Google search box. We recommend that you enter the title in quotation marks to make the search more effective:

     "american educational research journal" publisher

 Databases

1. Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities -- Educational set. Provides acceptance/rejection rates for journals, circulation data, author instructions, and more. NOTE: The most current issue of a journal or the journal publisher's web site may provide the most current information. See the Publisher's Web Site section above. 
2. MLA International Directory of Periodicals -- Provides publication information which may include acceptance rates, peer review status, etc. for journals in Literary Studies, Linguistics, Rhetoric, etc.
3. Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (Ulrichsweb™) -- A source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types from around the world. Search here to find the names and addresses of publishers as well as information about specific journals like peer review status.