It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Online Music Resources
Guide to music-related resources for both performers and scholars
In addition to its extensive collection of downloadable sheet music, 8notes includes a series of introductory music theory lessons and ear training drills. Its offerings range from the basics (note and rest durations, time and key signatures, etc.) to an overview of the Neapolitan chord and an "Introduction to Modes."
An online collection of basic music theory lessons, ranging from an introduction to the "staff, clefs, and ledger lines" to the use of the Neapolitan chord. This website also includes customizable practice exercises, and additional tools (i.e.: an "Interval Calculator" to practice interval recognition drills).
Teoria.com is a website dedicated to the study and practice of music theory. It was developed in 1997 by José Rodríguez Alvira as a complement for his courses at the Conservatory of Music of Puerto Rico. It includes free online lessons in basic music theory, including instruction in basic chord progressions as well as the recognition and use of Augmented Sixth and Neapolitan chords. In addition to the theory tutorials, this resource offers free online drills in ear training (rhythmic, melodic, and harmonic dictations).
Provides MIDI tutorials of major choral works including, but not limited to, the Bach B Minor Mass, the Mozart and Verdi Requiems, and Handel's Messiah. Each work offers a MIDI guide for all voice parts separately and combined (tutti).
This website offers several free ear training drills, including interval and chord identification, harmonic and melodic dictations, etc. It also offers jazz-specific ear training exercises and links to related jazz theory resources (e.g.: "A Jazz Improvisation Primer").
Gamut is the peer-reviewed online journal of the Music Theory Society of the Mid-Atlantic. The journal features articles covering Shenkerian analysis and Transformational Theory, as well as more recent, innovative theoretical and analytical concepts and procedures. According to the website, this journal also addresses musical practices "from non-Western regions (e.g., India, the Middle-East, or South America) or musical genres from popular culture (e.g., rock, country, or hiphop)."
Music Theory Online, a Journal of Criticism, is the refereed, electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory. Published several times each year, each volume of MTO includes features such as articles, reviews, commentaries, and analytical essays. In addition, MTO publishes a list of job opportunities and abstracts of recently completed dissertations.