Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIUS 1501: Land and Power in America

Accounts

 

Wireless | Mobile Devices | Eservices | HIVE Software | UVA Box | Interlibrary Loan/LEO | Library Account  | Netbadge | PrintingRefWorks | ORCID iD

 

 

 

Wireless Account
When do you use your Wireless account?  When you are on Grounds, you will need a wireless account to connect your laptop or any mobile device to UVA's online services.  If you need assistance, you can call the ITS Help Desk at 4-HELP (434-924-4357) anytime.You can also call the ITS toll-free number, 866-469-4866.  The ITS web site also has a Wireless FAQ page and a page of Troubleshooting Tips.
 

Mobile Devices
How do you set up your mobile device to connect to UVa services?  Go to the mobile devices web page to access the configuration instructions for smart phones and other mobile devices.    You will also register your phones, ipads and other devices which is a good safeguard should you lose your mobile device.

 

Eservices  Account 
Your Eservices Account is already set up. if you want to reset your Eservices password, you can do so. Note that you can also reset or change your email password, or your permanent password (NetBadge only) using the same site. When you are asked to login using NetBadge, you can use either your Eservices password or your permanent password.  

When do you use your Eservices account? You must use your eservices account to log into public computers on-Grounds in labs and classrooms. You may also use your Eservices account to log into NetBadge.

 
 
UVA SOFTWARE GATEWAY  AND NFORMATION ABOUT THE HIVE
Do you need research software?  UVA' s Software Gateway links faculty, staff, and students to software that is available for you such as SPSS,.survey software, and Stata.

.

 

What is the Hive?  The HIVE is a method which allows you remote access to specialized software programs. The Hive uses a technology called VMware to deliver the software you need to you in your dorm room, apartment, or library, for free!

 

 

 

UVA BOX
What is UVA Box?  UVA Box is a cloud-based storage and collaboration service that gives students and faculty the ability to access, store, and share their files—anywhere, anytime, on any device.


This service provides 50 GB of storage and is free to current faculty or staff and degree-seeking UVA students (see eligibility info) for as long as the person is at UVA.  Note: UVA Box is not appropriate for certain types of data, including highly sensitive data (see UVA Box User Responsibilities for more information). Federal/state laws and UVA information policies apply to the use of this service.  For additional information, see the UVA Box FAQs. 

 

Interlibrary Loan Account
When do you use your Interlibrary Loan account?  When the UVA Library does not have a book or journal article that you need, the Library's Interlibrary Loan service can obtain the book or a PDF of articles or book chapters for you from another library. The service is fast and it's free for UVA affiliates.  
You must  set up your Interlibrary Loan account. To set up an account, go to the Interlibrary Services page  On the login form in the left sidebar, click on button, FIRST TIME USERS.  You will be sent to an information form that you must complete. If you are a student enrolled in a Distance Education class held off-Grounds or you are taking classes online, please select DISTANCE EDUCATION/SCPS as your STATUS instead of Graduate or Undergraduate student.
 
Once you log into your Interlibrary Loan account, please note you can request a PDF of  either a journal article or a book chapter. Just click on the link, ARTICLE/CHAPTER (PDF) SCAN.

 
If you need a book, click on the link, BORROW AN ITEM.
 
If you need a dissertation, it is best to see if it is available full text in the ProQuest Dissertation and Theses database, VIRGO Libra, the Library's institutional repository, and Google.



 
Library Account
Your Library account is already set up. To log into your account, go to the Library account page,  use your NetBadge login and password to access your account. 
When do you use your Library account? Go here to submit interlibrary loan requests, see which books you have checked out. Use the online account to view the items you have checked out, renew books and other library materials, and use the provided links to access other library services.
 
NetBadge 
When do you use your Netbadge account?  When a University website, service, or application needs to know you are affiliated with UVA, the link on Library pages will automatically redirect  you to NetBadge. This is done because resources such as databases and online journals are available only to UVA affiliates due to contractual agreements with the publishers and the UVA Library. 
Logging into Netbadge You can use your Eservices password, your permanent password or a digital certificate to log into Netbadge.
 

 
Printing on-Grounds
Can I send a print job from my laptop to the public print system?  If you are using your laptop to print to one of the Printing and Copying Services (PCS) public printers at UVA, for example, the printer in the hallway on the 3rd floor of Ruffner Hall), you first need to set up you computer by downloading print drivers onto your laptop (instructions are in the right column on this guide)
 
If I am printing from one the of the PCS public printers, how do I pay for my print job?
 
 
RefWorks Account
What is RefWorks and when do you use your RefWorks account? RefWorks is a web-based software application that enables you to:
 
  •         Download citations from databases and put them into a personal RefWorks research database,

  •         Format bibliographies and citations automatically in over 400 styles including APA, MLA, etc.,

  •         Use RefWorks in conjunction with WORD to write papers and dissertations to automatically create citations in APA or the style you are required to use,

  •         Access your RefWorks account from any computer, anywhere,

  •         Create a database and share it with colleagues around the world.

     

You must set up your own RefWorks account. Be sure to use your UVA computing ID and UVA email address when you set up your RefWorks account.  You can view these RefWorks' tutorials for more information.

After you set up this account, you can search databases and Google Scholar, download the citations into RefWorks, and access them from any location.  Citations in your RefWorks account will have a   button. Click it to locate the article. In most cases, the article will be full text online. If full text is not available online, check to see if there is a print copy of the journal at one of the UVA Libraries. If there is not, you can obtain a digital copy through the Library's InterLibrary Services.  See our RefWorks page for more information.
 
ORCID iD
An ORCID iD is a unique researcher identifier, used worldwide, that you can keep throughout your life and retain even if you move institutions. UVA Library has built the UVA-ORCID Connector service, which allows you to verify your UVA affiliation. Learn more about your ORCID iD.