Education (K-12 and Higher Ed)
UVA Library research guide for education
1-1 consults
Need help? Schedule a 1-1 consultation with our Education and Human Development library team.
Search for research articles
Education research often overlaps with the social sciences, psychology, and child development. Because no single database covers everything, a strong search strategy means looking in at least three different databases.
This page highlights the best places to start.
Quick start: best places to begin
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowBroad and easy to use, this is the academic version of Google.
-
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowBest for psychology, learning, and child development topics
In the classroom
Use these databases if your project focuses on teaching practices, classroom strategies, or educational technology.
-
What Works Clearinghouse This link opens in a new windowSummarizes research on which teaching strategies, programs, and policies are effective (and which aren’t).
-
LearnTechLib (formerly EdITLib) This link opens in a new windowFocused on educational technology and e-learning. Useful for research on online teaching, classroom tech, and digital learning tools.
-
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowCovers education magazines and peer-reviewed journals on teaching strategies, curriculum, school administration, and more.
Behavior & child development
Best for research on how children and adolescents learn, grow, and behave inside and outside of school.
-
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new windowCovers research on growth and development from birth through age 21. Good for studies on social and cognitive development in schools.
-
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and full-text of almost 600 journals in psychology and related fields.
Interdisciplinary
Use these if your question crosses subject areas or you want a broad search across disciplines.
-
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowLarge database covering science and social science. Helpful if your topic overlaps with other fields (e.g., public health, sociology).
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowAnother large, interdisciplinary database. Good for systematic reviews and exploring research trends.