New Planning Books
From VIRGO...
Loading ...
Subject Guide
Resources for Urban & Environmental Planning
- EBSCOHost Databases This link opens in a new windowOver 40 databases of journal articles, books, and other documents in many subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple databases at the same time
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncluding bibliographic records covering essential areas related to the study of cities and regions, this database explores such topics as urban affairs, community development, urban history and other subjects of key relevance to the discipline.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowDatabase for public policy. Includes more than 3 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 21,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowPolicy File Index is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research in that it grants users access to timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, from foreign policy to domestic policy. The majority of Policy File Index records link directly to the full-text report, paper, document, or other source.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowFull text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowFind articles and book reviews in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning in journals from many countries. Coverage begins in the 1930s, but some journals are indexed back to the the 1860s. Many citations include abstracts.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool that enables government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the US. Use it for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowInteractive Maps and Reports provide easy access to demographic information about the United States. Data comes from the Census beginning in 1790 and from the Religious Congregations and Membership Study beginning in 1980. Also has crime and health data.
- Homes and CommunitiesOnline library of publications from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development as well as other resources.
- GISThe Research Guide for GIS at UVA. Support for GIS research is offered through the Scholars Lab.
- Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 This link opens in a new windowFire insurance maps for American cities showing building footprints. Very detailed.
Google Smarter!
- Put quotation marks around words that you want to stick together as a phrase
- Add "site:.gov" to the end of your search to ONLY search websites on government domains
- Add "filetype: .pdf" to ONLY search for information you think is likely to be in PDF format (reports, documents, etc.)
- Use the minus sign or dash to eliminate results that are off target (Example: food system -digestive)
- Remember that Google is only a computer, and doesn't understand the concepts in your search. So, try your search using different keywords and phrases that mean the same thing.