Librarian
Orientation for Distinguished Majors
Basic library information
- Library home page
- Hours
- Maps/Branches
- Calendar of Events: helpful workshops and tours offered by the library
- Study spaces map
- Service directory: comprehensive list of library services
- COVID FAQ
Getting help
- Ask a librarian: in person, phone, email, chat, SMS
- Find a specialist or research guide for your subject
- Schedule a consultation
Research guides and databases
- Research portal page
- American Studies guide
- Related guides:
- Library databases A-Z
- Off Grounds access to databases & articles
Library Catalog and Stacks
Virgo is the library’s catalog
- Logging into your Virgo account through NetBadge will let you
- See Account Information
- View Checked-out Items
- Renew Items
- Getting started with Virgo
- Finding a physical item in the library stacks
Essential Services
- Virgo pickup and scanning requests
- Purchase requests
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests: library.virginia.edu/services/ils/ or 4leo@virginia.edu
- Use WorldCat to find books at other libraries worldwide
Special Collections Request System
With this account, you will be able to request materials from the Library’s online catalog, VIRGO and archival materials from Archives at UVA for use in our reading room *in advance of your visit*. To use the system:
- register to create your online account
- present your UVA ID card during your first visit to Special Collections to complete your registration
Searching Archives and Finding Aids
Finding aids provide detailed descriptions of the contents of manuscript and archival materials in Special Collections. There are two databases for searching finding aids, both linked from the Special Collections home page:
- Archives at UVA (for materials added after 2016)
- Virginia Heritage (for materials added before 2016)