Skip to Main Content

RELC 3559: Muslim-Christian Polemics

Finding Background Information

Encyclopaedia of Islam by Bearman, P J; Garborieau, Marc
Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopaedia Islamica by editors-in-chief, Wilferd Madelung and Farhad Daftary
Emphasizes Shiite Islam.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation
Call Number: BS511.3 .O88 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Includes an essay on "Qur'anic and Islamic Interpretations of the Bible," including the use of the Bible in polemic.

Finding Primary and Secondary Literature

Christian Muslim Relations: A Bibliographical History by edited by David Thomas and Barbara Roggema ; with Juan Pedro Monferrer-Sala [and others]
Call Number: BP172 .C4196 (Shannon Reference; vols. 1-5 also available for circulation in Shannon Stacks)
Publication Date: 2009-<2015>
Part of the series History of Christian-Muslim Relations (linked from the record), which covers polemics.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
Lists articles on all aspects of religious studies from journals in many disciplines. Includes citations to book chapters and to book reviews. ATLASerials adds the full text of many journals.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Search for books and articles in periodicals about Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews.

Google Books
Searches the full text of thousands of books. If used in conjunction with Amazon.com full text search of a book, can get most of the text of a book.
VIRGO--The U.Va. Library Catalog