Overleaf for LaTeX Theses & Dissertations: Reference Managers and Overleaf

Creating & Managing Bibliographies with BibTeX on Overleaf

LEARN HOW TO create and manage bibliographies using BibTeX on Overleaf by reading this article by Overleaf TeXpert, Lian Tze, that pulls together all the threads relating to citations, references and bibliographies, as well as how Overleaf and related tools can help you manage your references.

How to Include a Bibliography Using BibTeX

This is video #9 in a series of twenty one by Dr Vincent Knight of Cardiff University.

Link/sync with a Reference Manager

BibTeX is a file format used for lists of references for LaTeX documents. Many citation management tools support the ability to export and import lists of references in .bib format. Some reference management tools can generate BibTeX files of your library or folders for use in your LaTeX documents.​

LaTeX on Wikibooks has a Bibliography Management page.

Find list of BibTeX styles available on Overleaf here

View a video tutorial on how to include a bibliography using BibTeX here

Using Zotero or CiteULike with Overleaf

• Import your bibliography from Zotero or CiteULike​

• Auto-complete for multiple citations

• Where do I find my CiteULike group id?

Using Mendeley with Overleaf

• Import your Mendeley library into Overleaf

• Managing shared references in your Mendeley groups

• Mendeley blog post series on LaTeX and BibTeX

Using RefWorks with Overleaf

• Export your bibliography from RefWorks in .bib format to use in Overleaf.

• Save this exported file to a location which allows direct linking (e.g. google drive), to keep it in sync when you add new references.

Using EndNote with Overleaf

• Export your bibliography from EndNote to Overleaf using the export to BibTeX option in EndNote. Note:If you do not see the export to BibTeX option in EndNote, you may need to download and install the necessary EndNote style plugin.

• Guide from MIT with details on using EndNote with LaTeX

• Guide from the University of Melbourne with a quick video on using EndNote with LaTeX

Using Edifix to convert unstructured bibliographies to BibTeX

Edifix is a parsing system to analyze references and create structured data from unstructured, plain text bibliographies. It converts your reference list into a variety of formats, including BibTeX. Edifix can also link your cited sources to Crossref and PubMed.

Set up an account on Edifix.

Detailed instructions from the Overleaf blog on how to use Edifix with Overleaf.

Link your ORCiD account to your Overleaf account.