Welcome
Welcome to the Anthropology library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Erin Pappas
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Erin for help with your assignments. This service is available to all students. Meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and research more efficiently.
Erin can help with: locating academic sources, brainstorming research topics, developing search strategies, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your research and literature reviews, and citation management. Meetings take place online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the most used databases for Anthropology research.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowAnnual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. There are 51 areas of study covered by the Complete Collection of Annual Reviews, including STEM-H topics such as chemistry, biomedical engineering, and immunology, as well as social science disciplines such as criminology, law, and economics.
- Anthropology Plus (1890-present) This link opens in a new windowFind articles, reports, and other materials on social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
- eHRAF WorldCultures This link opens in a new windowA searchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world. Produced by the Human Relations Area Files. Old title: eHRAF Collection of Ethnography.
- Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of the nature and use of language. Includes book reviews. Updated monthly.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
Help me with Anthropology citations
Anthropology uses the Chicago Manual of Style in author-date format.
Search Virgo
Consult handbooks
Introduction to Ethnographic ResearchISBN: 9781544334011Introduction to Ethnographic Research streamlines learning the process of research, speaks to the student at a foundational level, and helps the reader conquer the apprehensions of mastering research methods. Written in a conversational style, the chapters help the student transition from step to step in the research process. Case studies and first-hand accounts are also featured in each chapter, allowing the student to see the early steps, successes and at times failures that accomplished researchers experienced in their past.
What Anthropologists Do by ISBN: 9781003087908Why should you study anthropology? How will it enable you to understand human behaviour? And what will you learn that will equip you to enter working life? This book describes what studying anthropology actually means in practice, and explores the many career options available to those trained in anthropology.
Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology by ISBN: 9780429712982This book is an introduction to library research in anthropology written primarily for the undergraduate student about to begin a research project. It contains a summary description of the type of resource being discussed and its potential use in a research project.
Doing Anthropological Research by ISBN: 9780415697545Doing Anthropological Research provides a practical toolkit for carrying out research. It works through the process chapter by chapter, from the planning and proposal stage to methodologies, secondary research, ethnographic fieldwork, ethical concerns, and writing strategies. Case study examples are provided throughout to illustrate the particular issues and dilemmas that may be encountered.
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowOxford's Very Short Introductions series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects — from Public Health to Buddhist Ethics, Soft Matter to Classics, and Art History to Globalization. Each volume provides an authoritative and engaging assessment of a concept, field, or body of work, drawing out the central ideas, themes, and approaches.
Access to: Arts & Humanities, Law, Medicine & Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences.