Canvas-Portal-WGS: Welcome
Welcome
Welcome to the UVA Library Portal for Women, Gender, and Sexuality. The Portal provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your courses. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Erin Pappas
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Erin for help with your assignments. This service is available to all students. Meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and research more efficiently.
Erin can help with: locating academic sources, brainstorming research topics, developing search strategies, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your research and literature reviews, and citation management. Meetings take place online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are some of the most frequently-used databases for WGS research.
- LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowArchival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowFind journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses & dissertations, documents and other materials on all aspects of women's studies.
- Women and Social Movements This link opens in a new windowWomen and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection includes 108 document projects and archives with almost 4,300 documents and more than 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by more than 2,200 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
- Women and Social Movements: International This link opens in a new windowWomen and Social Movements, International is a collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE hosts more than 800 journals and more than 90,000 books covering the humanities and social sciences from nearly 400 leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers.
Search Virgo
Consult handbooks
The Routledge Handbook of Contemporary FeminismISBN: 9781315728346In this interdisciplinary collection, scholars reflect on how contemporary feminism has shaped their thinking and their field as they interrogate its uses, limits, and reinventions. Organized as a set of questions over definition, everyday life, critical intervention, and political activism, the Handbook takes on a broad set of issues and points of view to consider what feminism is today and what current forces shape its future development.
The Oxford Handbook of American Women's and Gender HistoryISBN: 9780190222628From the first European encounters with Native American women to today's crisis of sexual assault, The Oxford Handbook of American Women's and Gender History boldly interprets the diverse history of women and how ideas about gender shaped their access to political and cultural power in NorthAmerica.Over twenty-nine chapters, this handbook illustrates how women's and gender history can shape how we view the past, looking at how gender influenced people's lives as they participated in migration, colonialism, trade, warfare, artistic production, and community building.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ StudiesISBN: 9781483371306This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives.
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Oxford's Very Short Introductions series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects — from Public Health to Buddhist Ethics, Soft Matter to Classics, and Art History to Globalization. Each volume provides an authoritative and engaging assessment of a concept, field, or body of work, drawing out the central ideas, themes, and approaches.
Access to: Arts & Humanities, Law, Medicine & Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences.
Explore datasets/data repositories
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
- UN Statistics and Indicators on Women and MenStatistics by country.
- Gender Data Portal - World BankThe Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency.
- Reproductive Health Data and Statistics. CDCTopics: Abortion; Hysterectomy; Infant Health; Interactive Atlas of Reproductive Health; International Reproductive Health Surveys and Maternal Health.