Welcome
Welcome to the library dashboard for graduate English Literature (ENGL) courses. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Sherri Brown.
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Sherri for help with your assignments. This service is available to all ENGL students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and find the best resources.
Sherri can help with any part of your research process: brainstorming a research topic/question and creating a search strategy; finding, evaluating and organizing your sources; integrating your sources in your writing and creating appropriate citations. No question is too basic! Sherri can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Consult reference collections
These collections are a great starting place for finding out more about current scholarship in a particular area and the history of literary movements and concepts.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowDeveloped cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides on a variety of subjects.
- Cambridge Companions Complete Collection This link opens in a new windowEach of the several hundred Cambridge Companions is a collection of introductory essays on aspects of a writer, artist, philosopher, religious thinker, cultural topic or period.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowPresenting history as a continuous and evolutionary process, the Cambridge Histories offer a big picture perspective in each of 10 subject areas, making them essential reading for anyone researching or studying a subject that has a historical element.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowEach Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the most used databases for English literature-related research.
- MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowAn essential tool for research in all aspects of modern languages and literature. The bibliography includes more than 3 million records and is constantly updated by scholars in the field. It is used by academics and teachers around the world to find and share their work. Students at all levels rely on the bibliography to lead them to the journals, books, websites, and other publications they need to succeed in their research projects.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most scholarly journals are indexed from their start to 3-5 years ago.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowHosts more than 800 journals and more than 90,000 books covering the humanities and social sciences from nearly 400 leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers.
Digital primary source collections
The library has access to hundreds of primary source collections that may be useful as literature-related resources. Below are just a few. Find many more on the *English Language & Literature research guide.
- EEBO: Early English Books Online (new ProQuest Platform) This link opens in a new windowEvery significant work published in English from 1475 to 1700. Searchable text and page images of books, pamphlets, prayer books, proclamations, almanacs, calendars,etc. in all subjects. See also Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.
- ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collection Online (1701-1800) This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text and page images for books, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, etc in any language from the British Isles and North America, and in English from the rest of the world. See also Early American Imprints.
- 19th Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowNCCO content consists of monographs, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, etc. in both Western and non-Western languages from the long 19th century.
- Literary Studies This link opens in a new windowLiterary manuscripts, rare printed works, and personal papers of a range of leading British and American literary figures, as well as unique access to a goldmine of rare and obscure literary texts and genres.