Subject Guide
Census Name Rolls - Online at UVA
- Ancestry Library EditionAncestry Library Edition is an academic version of ancestry.com. There are images of original documents, such as the census name rolls. It also includes narratives, oral histories, indexes and abstracts to other resources. Over 30,000 Ancestry.com record collections and 11 billion records available to search. Record collections span the 1500s–2000s. (The link above is for current UVA students, faculty, and staff only, however many public libraries have subscriptions to this resource as well)
- National ArchivesThe National Archives holds original census materials such as name rolls. The most recent release is 1950, which can be accessed and searched through their website. This site also includes additional information about genealogical research using census records.
- FamilySearch.orgFree resource that allows searching of many family and genealogical records, including Census records.
UVA Library's Census Name Rolls
|
Census Records (Schedules or Name Rolls) Owned by the UVA Library - Microfilm |
||
|
State |
Years Owned – Call Number |
Indexing & Notes |
|
VIRGINIA |
1790-1930 UVA has not purchased more recent Census Name roll microfilm 1790 - Micfilm 7908 1800 - Micfilm 7588 1810 - Micfilm 7589 1820 - Micfilm 7590 1830 - Micfilm 7591 1840 - Micfilm 7592 1850 - Micfilm 7593 1860 - Micfilm 7594 1870 - Micfilm 7595 1880 - Micfilm 7596 1890 - original records destroyed by fire in 1921. Unavailable 1900 - Micfilm 7598 1910 - Micfilm 7599 1920 - Micfilm 7600 1930 - Micfilm 7601 |
Printed indexes: 1790,1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860 (MF only), 1870 |
|
ALABAMA, DELAWARE |
VARIOUS YEARS AND COUNTIES. SEE CALL NUMBERS ABOVE |
Some Printed indexes: available through Virgo See also Ancestry Library Edition and see Note #1 above, in Virginia entry, for instructions on how to access online Slave Schedules in Ancestry Library Edition.
|