China Studio Portal: Welcome
Welcome
Welcome to the China studio portal. This portal is designed to support your work and research. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Rebecca Coleman
Rebecca can help with: refining your topic, gathering research, finding images and site documentation, locating maps and data, organizing your research, citations, and more! She can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Request content any time
-
I need a scanned chapter or article from a print item in the LibraryNOTE: this option is available to graduate students and faculty only at this time.
Ask a Librarian
Search Virgo
You can limit your search results to "Online Only" to view ebooks, streaming media, etc.
Help me with citations
Different disciplines use different styles of citation. Please check to determine which style is right for your course and assignment. Remember that citations are important for crediting ideas, designs, data sources, image creators, and more.
-
Use Zotero to organize your sources and generate bibliographiesGuide to downloading and using Zotero, a free application that collects, manages, and cites research sources.
-
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
The ninth edition builds on the MLA’s unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, YouTube videos, dissertations, and more.
Download library apps and software
-
Libkey Nomad Browser ExtensionUpon finding an article on any website, Libkey Nomad identifies if the Library has access (and directs you to the full PDF of the article), or if not, directs you to Interlibrary Loan to allow you to get quick access to any article, anywhere.
-
ZoteroAnother free alternative to Refworks - collect, organize, cite and share your research sources. Downloads to your web browser on your personal computer. Is especially good for saving and linking to digital objects and web pages.
Google Tips & Tricks
These tips can help you locate better information on the web, faster. But remember- a lot of information is not freely available on the web, no matter how well you search!
- Put quotation marks around words that you want to stick together as a phrase
- Add "site:.gov" to the end of your search to ONLY search websites on government domains
- Add "site:website.com" to search only the content of a specific site (for example: charlottesville.org!)
- Add "filetype:pdf" to ONLY search for information you think is likely to be in PDF format (reports, documents, etc.)
- Use the minus sign or dash to eliminate results that are off target (Example: food system -digestive)
- Remember that Google is only a computer, and doesn't understand the concepts in your search. So, try your search using different keywords and phrases that mean the same thing.
Precedent and Case Study Databases
There is no single database for finding case study documentation. This list highlights some of the resources accessible through the Library that contain excellent documentation of the projects they have published. These are subscription sites-- accessing them via the library links should enable you to see the full content.
-
Detail Inspiration This link opens in a new windowDigital access to over 50 years of projects published in the journal DETAIL.
-
El Croquis OnlineDigital access to El Croquis journal issues 2001-Present. Please note: El Croquis currently requires that you use VPN access, even if you are on Grounds.
-
Tectónica OnlinePlease note: Currently requires that you use VPN access, even if you are on Grounds.
-
Building Types Online This link opens in a new windowThis database offers highly flexible and detailed search and browse access to the contents of publications from the publisher Birkhäuser on a variety of building types.
Precedent and Case Study Websites
-
Landezine (China)Showcases landscape architecture projects from around the world.
-
Landscape Performance Series Case Study BriefsDetails case studies of landscape projects including analysis of their performance in contributing to their intended sustainability goals.
Data Sources
-
GIS ResourcesA curated list of useful sources gathered by the GIS experts at the library, Chris Gist and Drew MacQueen.
-
China Statistical Yearbooks Database (CSYD) 中国经济社会发展统计数据库 This link opens in a new windowChina Statistical Yearbooks (CSYD) contains all key statistical yearbooks published in mainland China, covering various types of census and survey data including analysis reports, statistical summaries, investment material, and data compilations. Content in CSYD is classified by 18 industries, 40 districts and 6 types of documents, and covers a wide range of economic, social, and environmental topics.
Content is in Chinese, with many headings and tables of contents translated into English.
User introduction video link -
National Population Census of China This link opens in a new windowThe NPCC database presents findings for all 31 provinces, 2,782 county-level units, and specially-administered regions. It includes breakdowns by age, sex, nationality, marital status, and educational level, plus employment by industry and occupation, with detail on vital statistics, housing, and migration. Users can download tables into Excel.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, images, reports, news, and more. These are the most used databases for architecture research.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Use Advanced Search if you get too many results; use Preferences to turn on links to Find@UVa. Installing the Libkey Nomad Browser Extension (linked on this guide) will help you to get to the full text if UVA has access.
-
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowSearch summaries of what has been published in over 2,000 architecture journals -- more than Google Scholar searches. Links provided to full text articles in some cases. In others, you can use Find@UVA (or ask a librarian!) to track down the article once you know it exists.
-
EBSCOHost Databases This link opens in a new windowA large, interdisciplinary collection of databases. Many include full text of articles.
-
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA large, interdisciplinary database that searches vast amounts of scholarly literature. Includes tools for following citation trails and evaluating the impact of an article.
Context and Background Resources
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific with links to tens of thousands of images.
-
Encyclopedia of Buddhism Online This link opens in a new windowBrill’s Encyclopedia of Buddhism is the first comprehensive academic reference work devoted to the plurality of Buddhist traditions across Asia, offering a balanced and detailed treatment of this complex phenomenon in multiple thematically arranged volumes.
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowAccess to all encyclopedias
Oxford Research Encyclopedias provides access to thousands of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries of the scholarly literature by world-class experts across a broad range of disciplines. New articles are added monthly and existing reviews are regularly updated to reflect changes in scholarship.