Skip to main content

HIUS 4501-04 U.S. Civil War and the Constitution

Searching Virgo

Searching Virgo

Library homepage is http://www.lib.virginia.edu/

  Keyword =  'Confederate States of America' and indians  [Note that putting a phrase within single quotes will give better search results.]

Finding Scholarly Articles

 A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .  Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/

 

America History and Life Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

                                           Search = "Abraham Lincoln" AND  law

 Academic Search Complete   Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers on many topics.  The interface is almost identical to America History & Life, above.

                                   Search = conscription AND confederacy AND union
 

JSTOR  Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
                           Advanced Search = "Abraham Lincoln" AND "Jefferson Davis" AND territories
                                                    
Type = article    Disciplines:  History

Historical Newspapers & Magazines

A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .  Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/

The Library has a number of newspapers on microfilm.  You can search for them here.

The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective - 1860-1865   Searchable text and page images from The New York Herald, the Richmond Enquirer, and The Charleston Mercury, published between November 1, 1860 and April 30, 1865, including many battlefield maps and other illustrations.

              Search = "negro soldiers"    Date of publication = 1861-1865   Source = Civil War (Collection)

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers  Searchable full text and page images of several hundred U.S. newspapers from the 19th century. You can limit your search to particular states or cities.

                                 Keyword search = Butler and "New Orleans" and women   Date = 1862


 ProQuest Historical Newspapers  Searchable backfiles of the New York Times (1851-2006), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)and Washington Post (1877-1992).
              

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922  Searchable full text collection of U.S. newspapers.  Can limit by place.
                                     

American Periodicals Series  Full text of over 1,000 magazines and journals published in the U.S. between 1740 and 1900.

                         Search for Articles  = "Slaughter-house cases"      Date range = 1873-1874

Court Cases & Legal Materials

A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .  Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/

Lexis Nexis Academic [Legal component] News and business information from sources around the world; includes many newspapers.  Legal component also includes access to federal and state court cases and legal codes.

                  Select Federal & State Cases in left margin.
                  Sources = US Supreme Court Cases. Lawyers' Edition
                 
Case name = Virginia v. West Virginia
                 
Specify date = Date is 1870


 Hein Online Access to law review articles, Congressional documents, opinions by the U.S. and Confederate attorneys general, decisions by the U.S. Supreme Court, etc.

                  Select U.S. Attorney General Opinions
                 
Click on Official Opinions of the Attorneys General of the United States And "Search this Title"
                   Search for:  "Bates, Edward" = "Creator/Author"  AND  negro = Text  AND  pay = Text


Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 Searchable full text of casebooks, manuals, pamphlets, letters, speeches, etc. showing the development of U.S. and British law.

      For a specific publication: Search = Halleck and "international law"   Year of publication = 1861
      For works by a specific author: Search = Lieber and war   Search type = Keyword


 Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978  Over 240,000 Supreme Court documents, many of them briefs, from the final years of John Marshall through the early years of Warren Burger.

        Search: Virginia v. West Virginia  Search type =  Case Name   Date is between 1850 and 1870


Statutes at Large The official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress. Publication began in 1845 by a private firm. In 1874, Congress transferred the authority to publish the Statutes at Large to the Government Printing Office, which has been responsible for producing the set since that time.

Additional Resources

A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .  Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/

Congressional Globe contains the congressional debates of the 23rd through 42nd Congresses (1833-73). Initially the Globe contained a "condensed report" or abstract rather than a verbatim report of the debates and proceedings. With the 32nd Congress (1851), however, it began to provide something approaching verbatim transcription.

         Select "Search this Title"
         Select 33rd Congress, 1853-1855
         
Select title Congressional Globe (Index Only)
         
Enter  Kansas-Nebraska  in search box and select "Match all of these words"


ProQuest Congressional  Mostly full text publications from the U.S. Congress, including testimony in Congressional hearings, legislative histories, reports to Congress, etc.

                            Search terms = Kansas-Nebraska    Congress = 33(1853-1855)
               

Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress includes incoming and outgoing correspondence and enclosures, drafts of speeches, and notes and printed material. Most of the 20,000 items are from the 1850s through Lincoln's presidential years, 1860-65.  You can search or browse the contents. 

 American Civil War Letters and Diaries Letters, diaries and memoirs from the American Civil War, many still in manuscript form. Also includes selected biographies, a bibliography and a chronology of the War.

           Advanced Search:   Search texts = food
                                      
Author (military status) = Prisoner of War
                                     
Where written (setting) = POW Camps

North American Women's Letters and Diaries Searchable full text database of American and Canadian women's letters and diaries written from the Colonial period through 1950.

Valley of the Shadow Details life in Augusta County, Va. and Franklin County, Pa. during the Civil War and Reconstruction.  Contains letters, diaries, newspapers, speeches, census records, church records, etc.

 

                      Go to "Reference Center": "Search the Valley Databases"
                  "Search the Valley Personal Papers"
                  "Search the Letters" : Search word or phrase = prisoner    Begin date 1861 - end date 1865

Microform Collections: The Library has a number of significant micorform collections that may be relevant to this class. See the general listing of collections in U.S. history, which includes "State Secession Debates, 1859-1862".  Also see the list of collections in Civil War history which lists collections of personal papers, diaries, etc.