LibGuides: Dance: Images, Music, and Videos

Dance Media

Bloomsbury Video Library This link opens in a new window
Access to masterclasses, documentaries, and interviews. Artfilms streams thousands of videos from top artists and producers.
Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Dance productions and documentaries covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance in the 20th century. Additional titles will be added.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Patrons using Google Chrome must have the newest version of the Chrome browser in order to continue watching content on Digital Theatre+.
Digital Theatre+ collaborates with over 50 world-class theatre companies, industry associations, practitioners, teachers, examination boards and scholars to capture and curate live performance in stunning quality. The database also brings a range of insights from behind the scenes and educational resources to support study at every level.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. The constantly growing collection meets the full range of teaching needs for theatre studies, literature courses and drama schools. From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal, there is plenty to discover.

Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
Jacob’s Pillow is a National Historic Landmark, a National Medal of Arts recipient, and home to America’s longest running dance festival. Each year thousands of people from across the U.S. and around the globe experience the Festival with more than 50 dance companies and 200 free performances, talks, and events. Jacob’s Pillow Dance Interactive is an ever-growing collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob’s Pillow from the 1930s to today.
Jerome Robbins Dance Division: Audio and Moving Image Archive
Free access to video and audio recordings held in the Jerome Robbins Archive of the Recorded, Mikhail Baryshnikov Archive, Dance Theater Workshop Video Archive, Victor Jessen Video Archive, National Dance Institute Archive, PS 122 Archive, Merce Cunningham Archive, and David Gordon Archive.

OntheboardsTV This link opens in a new window
OntheBoards.tv offers high-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization.

Numeridanse
Numeridanse offers free access to filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, and dance videos. Numeridanse is headed and coordinated by the Maison de la Danse, Lyon, and offers access to butoh, classical ballet, neo-classical ballet, baroque, Indian, African, flamenco, contemporary, traditional dances, hip-hop, tango, jazz, circus arts, performance, etc.
Streaming Video at UVA
The library provides access to more than 75,000 licensed streaming titles.

American Song This link opens in a new window
Country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel and shape note singing.
Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Over 50,000 recordings of classical music. Search or browse by composer, performer, instrument, period, etc. Included with more classical, jazz and world music in Music Online.
Jazz Discography Online This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable online version of Tom Lord's Jazz Discography. Search for jazz recordings by bandleader, musician, tune or record label.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Large collection of classical and world music from the Naxos and Marco Polo labels. Recordings plus descriptive information.NOTE: 1) Please logout at the end of your session. 2) Bookmarks won't work unless "default.asp" is removed from the end of the URL.
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
World music from Smithsonian Folkways and other labels and from African and South Asian ethnomusicological collections. Included with more classical, jazz and world music in Music Online.

Free Music Archive
The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU, the most renowned freeform radio station in America. Radio has always offered the public free access to new music. Every MP3 you discover on The Free Music Archive is pre-cleared for certain types of uses that would otherwise be prohibited by copyright laws that were not designed for the digital era.
Free Online Music Resources Guide
Guide to freely-available music-related resources for both performers and scholars.

ARTStor This link opens in a new window
Artstor is now on JSTOR.
Images of world art from all periods, including paintings, drawings, prints, historic photographs, architecture and design.

American Vaudeville Museum Archive
Browse more than 4,321 items and 13 collections in the digital American Vaudeville Museum Archive to learn more about how this popular form of entertainment helped shape American Popular culture we know today.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA Images lets you search the Digital Public Library of America, a collection of millions of cultural heritage objects from libraries, archives, and museums across the country.
Flickr Commons
A subset of Flickr images that are in the public domain or published with a Creative Commons copyright, which allows them to be cited and reused.
Global Performing Arts Database
Includes descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress has extensive collections in theatre and dance history. Use the drop-down to search by type of material.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
This archive contains many primary sources related to theatre and dance history in New York.
Wikimedia Commons
A site where you can find images that are in the public domain or published with a Creative Commons copyright, which allows them to be cited and reused.