LibGuides: AAS 5559: Digital Caribbean Studies: Home

Finding Books

Keyword search should be "Google-like," just enter whatever terms you want; no need for connectors like and.
Will search the title, author's name or description of the item.

There are also some Subject keyword searches that will be helpful [Change drop-down menu to "Subject," will search only the subject headings that have been applied to the item]:

Ex., Inquisition [other other topic keyword like "witchcraft Germany"] sources

Other subject keywords also indicate primary source:
Archives*
Correspondence*
Diaries*
Early works to 1800
Facsimilies
Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
Pamphlets
Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only)
Songs and music
Sources
Speeches, addresses, etc.*
Treaties

*Used with individuals' names,classes of persons (e.g., soldiers), and organizations.

Google Books Searches the full text of thousands of books. If used in conjunction with Amazon.com full text search of a book, can get most of the text of a book.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) Every significant work published in English from 1475 to 1700. Searchable text and page images. Because of early modern variants in spelling, it may be easier to take advantage of the subject terms. Take advantage of the "Select from a List" options. (You can search within the list.) You can do the same thing for full text keywords, as well as search for variant spellings.)

ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collection Online (1701-1800) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text and page images for books, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, etc in any language from the British Isles and North America, and in English from the rest of the world. See also Early American Imprints.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text with page images of books published in 17th- and 18th-century America. Browsable by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language. See also Early English Books Online and Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text with page images of books published in early 19th-century America. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
America: History & Life (1964-present) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
Hispanic American Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.

Other Primary Source Collections

State Papers Online: Eighteenth Century 1714-1782 Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council This link opens in a new window
Offers online access to approximately 300,000 government manuscripts that reveal the behind the scenes, day to day running of the British government during the reigns of King George I (1714-1727), George II (1727-1760), and part of the reign of George III (up to 1782), plus Military, Naval, Plantation Registers, Sheriffs Lists and State Papers Scotland and Ireland. Key themes covered are the establishment of the British Empire as a dominant colonial power, the development of agriculture and industrialization, and Britain during the Age of Enlightenment.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
Colonial America will make available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Sabin reaches into all aspects of American history and culture. It touches upon the political and religious life in North America and at times South America and the Caribbean. It features American and European views of the colonization of the Americas, the American Revolution, the days of the early Republic and Jacksonian period, the antebellum period, Civil War, era of Reconstruction and post-Reconstruction, the settlement of the West and the onset of the Gilded Age. Through published pamphlets, tracts, memoirs, congressional legislation, correspondence, broadsides, biographies, histories, fiction and poetry, eulogies, sermons and innumerable other genres, Sabin opens a window onto the Americas.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery This link opens in a new window
Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

House of Commons Hansard archives
Read debates from the Commons Chamber and Westminster Hall, Public Bill and General Committees, from November 1988 to March 2016. You can also view House of Commons Historic Hansard for debates from 1803-2005. This is now an archive and the latest debates can be found in Hansard.
House of Lords Hansard Archive
Read debates on bills, delegated legislation, statements, questions, introductions, general debates and grand committees, from November 1995 to March 2016. You can also view House of Lords Historic Hansard for debates from 1803-2005.
Foreign Relations of the United States
Documents from various Presidential libraries, the Department of State and Defense, the National Security Council, the Central Intelligence Agency, the Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Information by and about the U.S. Congress: documents and reports, Legislative Histories, hearings, and members and committees. Search the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Federal Regulations, The Hill, and Roll Call. Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Over 35,000 declassified documents used in foreign policy decision-making by the U.S. government. Includes some photographs. These documents have been gathered since 1985 through the use of the Freedom of Information Act by the National Security Archive.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of over 70,000 scanned declassified U.S. documents from the 1940s onwards taken from presidential libraries, the CIA, the FBI and other agencies. Covers the Cold War, Vietnam, the civil rights movement and other events.

Historical Newspapers

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
The largest collection of fully searchable 18th- and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers. The evolution of the region across two centuries chronicled within more than 140 titles from 22 islands. Essential for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and related topics.
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. From the collection at the British Library.
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1991) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text collection of US newspapers. For additional titles see 19th Century U.S. Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Washington Post, and The Guardian & The Observer.
Times Digital Archive: 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
The full text of the Times of London from 1785-2014.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from 200 ethnic, minority, and native publications in the U.S., in English and in Spanish.

Getting Materials Not in U.Va. Library--Interlibrary Loan

Unavailable through VIRGO or unavailable in full-text via our article databases does not mean inaccessible or even seriously inconvenient. U.Va. Library has a great interlibrary loan service that should put the needed article in your inbox or the book in your hands within a few days of your requesting it.

Create an account with our Interlibrary Loan Department (log on as first-time user).

Use Worldcat to identify other libraries which should have your book. (Best to stay on UVa Worldcat).

Also, don't forget to Recall items that have been checked out in VIRGO. The borrower of the item has 10 days to return it or have his/her borrowing privileges blocked. (You can also request the title through ILL should recall prove to be a delay.)

AAS 5559: Digital Caribbean Studies

Finding Books

Finding Scholarly Articles

Other Primary Source Collections

Historical Newspapers

Getting Materials Not in U.Va. Library--Interlibrary Loan

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites