Finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles
Below is a list of databases covering various disciplines of research where you could search for articles about Charlottesville. Don't see what you're looking for? Contact Sherri or another librarian to discuss your research.
- Virgo - search Virgo for articles from a large variety of library databases.
- Google Scholar is also useful for finding articles from across many disciplines.
- Academic Search Complete is a large general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Updated daily, it can be the best source for resources about very current topics.
- Access World News is a news collection that is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Look for quick links to The Cavalier Daily back to 2011 and The Daily Progress back to 2008.
- America History & Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
- Urban Studies Abstracts Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to the study of cities and regions, this database explores such topics as urban affairs, community development, urban history and other subjects of key relevance to the discipline.
See an A-Z list of all databases
Historical Newspaper & Serials Collections
- Virginia Chronicle This link opens in a new windowVirginia Chronicle is the Library of Virginia's online newspaper database and repository, and contains over 46,000 individual issues totaling nearly 300,000 pages.
- America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1991) This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text collection of US newspapers. For additional titles see 19th Century U.S. Newspapers.
- African American Newspapers Series I and II This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles.
