ENGL 2599: Rethinking the Human
Grammar & Style Help
-
The Chicago Guide to Grammar, Usage, and Punctuation
by
Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9780226191294Publication Date: 2016 -
That or Which, and Why
by
Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9781135868642Publication Date: 2007 -
The Elements of Grammar
by
Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9780585059877Publication Date: 1996 -
The Elements of Style
by
Call Number: PE1408.S772 2000ISBN: 9780205309023The print edition of this book (and several other writer's guides) are available in the Shannon Reference Collection. An old edition of The Elements of Style is accessible online through Virgo.
Citation Managers
In order to organize and manage your citations, consider using a Citation Manager like Zotero. More information on Zotero and other citation managers can be found on the Citation Managers Guide.
MLA & Chicago Style Manuals & Citation Help
MLA and Chicago are both popular citation styles for English language and literature. Below are resources that can help you when you're formatting your bibliography and papers using either MLA or Chicago notes & bibliography style. Some professors (or publishers, if you are writing an article to be published) may prefer a different style, such as Chicago author/date style, so always check before you format and submit your work. Ask a librarian if you have questions about citation styles.
-
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
The ninth edition builds on the MLA’s unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, YouTube videos, dissertations, and more.
-
The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed) Online EditionUse link in Virgo record to access the online edition of the guide.
-
Purdue OWL: Chicago Formatting & Style GuideA great resource for seeing how to cite different types of sources using Chicago style. (I don't recommend their citation generator, just the information about how to cite different sources)
-
Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting & Style GuideAn essential resource from Purdue University with examples and advice for creating in-text citations and bibliographies using MLA style.
-
The MLA Style Center - Using MLA FormatThe official website on MLA style. This site will show you how to document sources, set up your paper, and improve your writing.
-
MLA Handbook 9th edition
by
Call Number: Shannon Reference & Brown Library Reference X031880570 Brown Science and Engineering Reference LB2369 .M52 2021ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism. Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting. -
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition
by
Call Number: Print copy available in Shannon Reference ( Z253 .U69 2017)ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords.
Sample Citations in MLA Style
Scholarly Article Citation
General Format:
Author (last name, first name). "Title of Article." Journal Title, volume number (vol. #), issue number (no. #), year, pages (pp. #-#).
Example:
McCarthy, Lucas. “Between the Sublime and the Traumatic: Harriet Jacobs’s Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl and Toni Morrison’s Beloved.” Papers on Language and Literature: A Journal for Scholars and Critics of Language and Literature, vol. 57, no. 2, 2021, pp. 165–202.
Essay in an Edited Book
General Format:
Essay Author (last name, first name). "Title of Essay." Title of Book Collection, edited by Name of Editor(s), Publisher, year, pages (pp. #-#).
Example:
Niesen de Abruña, Laura. “The Ambivalence of Mirroring and Female Bonding in Paule Marshall’s Brown Girl, Brownstones.” International Women’s Writing: New Landscapes of Identity, edited by Anne E. Brown and Marjanne E. Goozé, Greenwood Press, 1995, pp. 245–52.
Sample In-Text Citations MLA style
Citation in Works Cited:
Hoeveler, Diane Long. “Gothic Chapbooks and the Urban Reader.” The Wordsworth Circle, vol. 41, no. 3, 2010, pp. 155–58.
General in-text citation: (Author page number(s))
Example: (Hoeveler 155).
If I have more than one article by Hoeveler in my Works Cited, I would add part of the title (to identify to which work you are referring):
Example: (Hoeveler, "Gothic Chapbooks" 155).
When citing an essay from a book collection, use the essay author in the citation (not the editor(s) name(s)).
Citation after quotation: "Here is my quotation" (cite).
Example: According to Hoeveler, "One cannot discuss the gothic chapbook phenomenon without also briefly addressing the development of the circulating library" (156).
Or paraphrase of information (cite).
Example: The growth of gothic chapbooks is tied closely to the establishment of circulating libraries (Hoeveler 156).
Sample Citations in Chicago Style (notes & bibliography)
Scholarly Article Citation
General note format:
1. Author name, "Title of Article," Journal Title volume number, issue number (year): page(s) referred to.
Example:
1. David S. King, “Mutilation and Dismemberment in the Chanson de Roland, a Question of Faith,” Romance Notes 45,
no. 3 (2005): 253.
General bibliography format:
Author last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal title volume number, issue number (year): full pages of article.
Example:
King, David S. “Mutilation and Dismemberment in the Chanson de Roland, a Question of Faith.” Romance Notes 45,
no. 3 (2005): 247-263.
Chapter from a Single-Authored Book
General note format:
2. Author, "Title of Chapter," in Title of Book (City of Publication: Publisher, year), page(s) referred to.
Example:
2. Simon Gaunt, “Monologic Masculinity: The Chanson de Geste,” in Gender and Genre in Medieval French Literature (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press,1995), 25.
General bibliography format:
Author last name, First name. "ChapterTitle." In Book Title, full chapter pages. City of Publication: Publisher, year.
Example:
Gaunt, Simon. “Monologic Masculinity: The Chanson de Geste.” In Gender and Genre in Medieval French Literature, 22-70. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press,1995.