Chicago Style Manuals & Citation Help
Professor Benson has asked you to use Chicago style (notes and bibliography) for your annotated bibliography assignment and final paper citations. Many library databases include a cite feature that will give you a basic Chicago-style citation for an article or essay, but always check that it is formatted correctly (for example, make sure the title is not in all caps).
Below are resources that can help you when you're formatting your bibliography and papers. Some professors (or publishers, if you are writing an article to be published) may prefer a different style, such as MLA or APA, so always check before you format and submit your work. Ask a librarian if you have questions about Chicago or other citation styles.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by Call Number: Print copy available in Clemons Reference ( Z253 .U69 2017)ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
- Purdue OWL: Chicago Formatting & Style GuideA great resource for seeing how to cite different types of sources using Chicago style. (I don't recommend their citation generator, just the information about how to cite different sources)
- The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed) Online EditionUse link in Virgo record to access the online edition of the guide.
- Chicago Manual of Style Guidelines: Quickstudy Digital GuideA short guide on rules of Chicago style. See the last section for recommendations and examples on creating citations.
Sample Citations in Chicago Style
Scholarly Article Citation
General note format:
1. Author name, "Title of Article," Journal Title volume number, issue number (year): page(s) referred to.
Example:
1. David S. King, “Mutilation and Dismemberment in the Chanson de Roland, a Question of Faith,” Romance Notes 45,
no. 3 (2005): 253.
General bibliography format:
Author last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal title volume number, issue number (year): full pages of article.
Example:
King, David S. “Mutilation and Dismemberment in the Chanson de Roland, a Question of Faith.” Romance Notes 45,
no. 3 (2005): 247-263.
Chapter from a Single-Authored Book
General note format:
2. Author, "Title of Chapter," in Title of Book (City of Publication: Publisher, year), page(s) referred to.
Example:
2. Simon Gaunt, “Monologic Masculinity: The Chanson de Geste,” in Gender and Genre in Medieval French Literature (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press,1995), 25.
General bibliography format:
Author last name, First name. "ChapterTitle." In Book Title, full chapter pages. City of Publication: Publisher, year.
Example:
Gaunt, Simon. “Monologic Masculinity: The Chanson de Geste.” In Gender and Genre in Medieval French Literature, 22-70. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press,1995.