ENGL 8540: Jane Austen

From site: "The Jane Austen’s Fiction Manuscripts Digital Edition gathers together in the virtual space of the web some 1100 pages of fiction written in Jane Austen’s own hand. Through digital reunification, it is now possible to access, read, and compare high quality images of original manuscripts whose material forms are scattered around the world in libraries and private collections. Unlike the famous printed novels, all published in a short span between 1811 and 1818, these manuscripts trace Jane Austen’s development as a writer from childhood to the year of her death; that is, from 1787 (aged 11 or 12) to 1817 (aged 41). Not only do they provide a unique visual record of her imagination from her teenage experiments to her last unfinished writings, these pages represent one of the earliest collections of creative writings in the author’s hand to survive for a British novelist."
Note: Facsimiles currently unavailable due to demise of Adobe Flash Player - they are working on other options.

"This collection consists of eighteen printed and manuscript music books owned by members of the Austen family, including the writer Jane Austen, in the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. Many are binder’s volumes, compiled from separate manuscript or printed sheet music items bound together for an individual user. Others are personal manuscript albums made wholly or principally by a single copyist. Although some volumes were compiled as early as the 1750s, the majority date from Jane Austen’s lifetime (1775-1817)."

The Bodelian has two digitized Austen items of possible interest:
1. Volume the First - a compilation of 16 of Austen's early short works in her own writing.
2. Two autograph letters by Jane to her sister Cassandra.

From University of Nebraska - Lincoln. "This site allows you to explore Austen's patterns of diction. We feature word frequencies, a search, novel visualizations, and background on the project." Allows for download of TEI-XML markup used power their visualizations

Professor Sabor’s project Reading with Austen is a virtual recreation of Edward Austen Knight’s library at his Godmersham Park estate in Kent. You can access and spend many an hour yourself perusing what Jane read: http://www.readingwithausten.com/. Books that are at Chawton or books that have been found in other libraries or personal collections are situated on their original shelves and with the click of a mouse you can see the actual book, it’s binding, title page, any important marginalia, and the all-important bookplate.

A descriptive analytics approach to 3 novels by Jane Austen - Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, and Emma. Includes sentiment analysis, vocabulary comparisons, and character networks by a graduate student from UT-Austin.

From site: "The 'cult of Austen' reveals the extent to which Jane Austen has stood the test of time."
A digital seminar project on the lasting impact of Austen.

The 18th-Century Common is a public humanities website with co-editors from Wake Forest University and Union College. The section on Austen includes various contributed scholarship.

Online exhibit to accompany exhibit at the Morgan 2009-2010. Includes facsimile of manuscript of Lady Susan, sketches, notes, and more.

"This exhibit explores how bringing resources together from a variety of institutions, groups, and individuals, in a common virtual space, can promote a better understanding of the history of women and the arts during Jane Austen's time." Created by Katherine Ramsey, Graduate Assistant, UIUC Literatures and Languages Library

"Visit Jane Austen's House from the comfort of your own home. Stroll through the House on our virtual tour, or take in one of our fascinating online exhibitions." Online exhibits include:
- "My Dear Cassandra . . . "
- "The Making of Pride and Prejudice"
- "Jane Austen in London"
- "Jane Austen in Love"
- "Jane Austen Undressed"
- "The Illustrations of Pride & Prejudice"
and more!

The WWP Lab is the experimental space for Women Writers Online (access through library databases A-Z list). Although Austen's works are not included, other women authors from her time period are (and back to the 16th century). See interesting visualizations and play around with the Women Writers Vector Toolkit.