Topic Thinking Tool: Shaping Your Research
- Thinking Tool & Research Paper ChecklistUse the Thinking Tool worksheet to help you brainstorm concepts and questions related to your topic, ultimately (hopefully!) helping you narrow your focus.
Subject Guide
Suggestions for Statistics & Demographic Information
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowThe Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowInteractive Maps and Reports provide easy access to demographic information about the United States. Data comes from the Census beginning in 1790 and from the Religious Congregations and Membership Study beginning in 1980. Also has crime and health data.
Black Oral History Interviews
- HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowAround 150,000 stories are assembled here from life oral history interviews with 2,700 historically significant African Americans including politicians, religious leaders, athletes, musicians, civil rights activists, soldiers, and many more.
Example Streaming/Online Videos
- Bedlam (86 minutes, 2019)Through intimate stories of patients, families, and medical providers, BEDLAM immerses us in America's national crisis surrounding care of the severely mentally ill. Filmed over five years, it brings us inside one of the nation's busiest psychiatric emergency rooms, into jails where psychiatric patients are warehoused, and to the homes - and homeless encampments - of mentally ill members of our communities. The story is told in part by director Kenneth Paul Rosenberg, MD, a psychiatrist, filmmaker, and brother of a person with schizophrenia.
- The Climate Change Denial Industry (65 minutes, 2011)This episode of The Green Interview features James Hoggan, the author of Climate Cover-Up: The Crusade to Deny Global Warming . He explains how oil and gas companies and their PR firms manufactured the false debate on climate change. Hoggan, who works in the public relations industry himself, explains how public relations techniques allow businesses to use psychology to shape public opinion. Hoggan discusses the climate change deniers, the use of industry-sponsored propaganda and how ethical business should be conducted.
- Geography of Punishment (48 minutes, 2015)Crime rates of previous decades continue to have a large impact on how the criminal justice system functions today. Proactive policing strategies such as "drug-free zone" laws and "stop-and frisk" were implemented with the best of intentions, but critics say they are not working, and are in fact causing more hardship - for the community and the state's taxpayers - filling up prisons and infringing on civil rights. What can be done to repair the public's trust in the system? Are proactive policing strategies like "stop-and-frisk" working? The System looks at how where you live can determine your fate with the police.
- Lost Angels (76 minutes, 2012)takes an uncompromising yet life-affirming look at the lives of eight remarkable individuals -- people who have found a way to make a life for themselves within the community of homelessness. The film shows how their descent into society's basement has been exacerbated by the forces of gentrification and the increasing criminalization of homeless people, while exposing the draconian changes to the mental health care system that have brought us here. With the support of a vast array of advocates, especially the services of Lamp Community, the mission featured in the Jamie Foxx / Robert Downey Jr. film, THE SOLOIST, many residents of Skid Row have found a way to stick together and fight back.
- Mandatory Sentencing (46 minutes, 2017)Joe Berlinger explores the effectiveness and justness of mandatory sentencing in a current climate that preaches reform. In Florida, the unintended consequences of mandatory minimum gun laws seem to outweigh its merits as a father is sent to prison for 20 years for "defending his family." While in Illinois, politicians carefully craft a 'tough on crime bill' inspired by the death of a promising honours student that may offer relief to a community plagued by escalating gun violence. A man in Florida fires a warning shot in his house and ends up with a 20 year prison sentence.
- No Mas Bebes (No More Babies) (79 minutes 2015)The story of Mexican immigrant women who were pushed into sterilization while giving birth at L.A. County hospital during the 1970s. Alongside intrepid young Chicana/o lawyers and a whistle-blowing doctor, the mothers stood up to powerful institutions in the name of justice.
- PBS NewsHour: Two Views on the Future of American Policing (10 minutes)As we have seen in Minneapolis, whose city council says it will defund the police, the move to reform law enforcement is gaining steam. Some activists want to abolish police departments entirely, while others aim to reallocate some of their funding to other services. Judy Woodruff talks to Charlene Carruthers of the Movement for Black Lives and Chuck Wexler of the Police Executive Research Forum.
- Prison State (83 minutes, 2014)FRONTLINE investigates the impact of mass incarceration in America.
- Pushout: The Criminalization of Black Girls in Schools (79 minutes, 2019)A feature length documentary, based on a book of the same name by Dr. Monique W. Morris, that takes a deep dive into the lives of Black girls and the practices, cultural beliefs and policies that disrupt one of the most important factors in girls' lives- education. The documentary underscores the challenges Black girls face with insight from experts across the country who have worked extensively in the field of social justice, gender quality and educational equality. While the challenges facing Black boys in this country have garnered national attention, absent in that conversation has been how girls of color, particularly Black girls are being impacted. Pushout addresses that crisis. We hear from girls with experiences that impacted them from as young as seven to as old as nineteen, as they described navigating a society that often marginalizes and dismisses them.
- The True Cost (92 minutes, 2015)Groundbreaking investigation of fast fashion reveals that while the price of clothing has been decreasing for decades the human and environmental costs have grown dramatically.
Helpful URLs
- Ask a LibrarianQuestions? Ask us! Chat, call, text, or email anytime.
- Purchase RecommendationsIs there an ebook you think the UVA Library should own but doesn't? Make a purchase recommendation.
- Using Databases Off GroundsHave questions about accessing databases from off-grounds? Find more information here.
Library Research
This guide was created to help you prepare for your annotated bibliography (assignment 2) research project for ENWR 1510 and as a general guide to resources related to social justice.
In preparation for your research assignment, you should think some about possible questions/topics of interest to start your research - use the Thinking Tool Worksheet on the left to help you brainstorm concepts and research questions related to your topic.
You will also want to spend some time thinking about how you will conduct your research.
- Fine-tune your searches.
Think broadly when brainstorming search terms. What synonyms or related terms could stand in for your key search terms?
You can combine search terms using AND (sports AND colorism) and OR (color* OR "skin tone")
In many databases, the asterisk (*) is a truncation or "wildcard" symbol that will match all possible endings for a word stem. For example, sex* will match sexism, sexual, sexuality, sexualize, etc.
Most databases have filters or facets that allow you to narrow your results by subject, date range, etc. Limit your searches to help you find the sources you need.
- Think about where you might find the type of information you are seeking.
Will you find the research you need in an e-book? A journal article? A magazine? A newspaper? An interview? Cast a wide net when looking for the types of resources that could help answer your research question or support an argument you are making. For your assignment, remember you've been asked to include at least two different mediums.
- Know the difference between academic and non-academic sources, and when it's appropriate to use them.
Most databases allow you to limit results to academic/scholarly/peer-reviewed sources. Be mindful of your assignment and what you're being asked to provide. Need a refresher? Watch the short video Peer Review in 3 Minutes.
- When you find a good source, use it to find other good sources.
Use the subject terms and keywords associated with an article or essay to find other articles and essays on similar topics.Scholarly books and articles will have works cited, bibliographies, or footnotes you can mine for additional resources.
Need help? Ask a librarian.
Finding articles
Multidisciplinary Databases (good for searching a wide range of topics)
Academic Search Complete is a large general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Updated daily, it can be the best source for resources about very current topics.
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists. footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.NOTE: This is a credible source but not a scholarly source. Good for an overview of current and/or controversial topics.
JSTOR includes older issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines from the start to 3-5 years ago.
The Social Science and Humanities Library provides online access to a broad range of journal content across 14 disciplines related to social sciences and humanities, including media and communication studies, library and information science, security and defense studies, business, management and economics, and education. Includes many journals published on behalf of associations, organizations, and societies related to these disciplines.
Example Subject-specific Databases
7 Education Databases searches 1) ERIC, 2) Academic Search Complete, 3) Education Full Text, 4) Education Index
Retrospective: 1929-1983, 5) Education Research Complete, 6) Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, and 7) SPORTDiscus
Chicano Database, produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants from 1992 onwards.
Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse includes documents and information about civil rights cases in the United States. Topics include child welfare, school desegregation, election/voting rights, immigration, police profiling, conditions in public housing, jails/prisons, mental health facilities, and more.
Consumer Health Complete includes medical dictionaries and encyclopedias, image and video collections and works on specific health and wellness topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, generic and brand-name drugs, children's, men's & women's health.
Environment Complete includes journal articles and some books on topics such as agriculture, the ecosystem, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, law, and policy, and urban planning.
Race Relations Abstracts has a singular focus on relationships between and among races. This resource includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals, and newspapers in the field.
SocINDEX offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
Women's Studies International includes journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses & dissertations, documents and other materials on all aspects of women's studies.
See an A-Z list of all databases
Recommended News Resources
These databases provide access to newspapers and other sources of news from the U.S. and international.
Newspaper Source Plus provides the full text of major American newspapers and some foreign newspapers plus selected stories from other US regional newspapers. Also includes full-text of transcripts for television and radio network news broadcasts.
NexisUni includes news and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
Finding books & articles using Virgo
Virgo, the UVA Library’s primary search tool, contains catalog records for books, print journals, DVDs, maps, and digitized materials, as well as links to online articles from our rich array of subscription journals. You can search catalog materials and articles together, or view those results separately, using the facets provided to limit your results by author, format, publication period, and more. To find online content, use the Filter Results By option and choose Online.
Example subject terms of possible interest:
- Alternatives to imprisonment
- Caste -- Political aspects -- India
- Caste -- Social aspects -- India
- Climatic changes -- Psychological aspects
- Clothing trade -- Economic aspects
- Clothing trade -- Environmental aspects
- Corrections -- United States
- Cultural appropriation
- Cultural appropriation -- United States
- Discrimination in criminal justice administration -- United States
- Discrimination in education -- United States
- Discrimination in medical care -- United States
- Education and crime -- United States
- Family planning services -- United States
- Health care reform -- United States
- Health services accessibility -- United States
- Homeless persons -- Mental health -- United States
- Homeless persons -- Mental health services -- United States
- Juvenile delinquency -- United States -- Prevention
- Medical care -- United States -- Cost control
- Mothers -- Mortality
- Police brutality -- United States
- Prisons -- United States
- Racism in education -- United States
- Reproductive rights -- United States
- Restorative justice -- United States
- Social justice -- United States
- United States -- Emigration and immigration -- Political aspects
- United States -- Emigration and immigration -- Social aspects
- Universities and colleges -- United States -- Admission
Example E-Books of Interest
Civilization and Barbarism: Punishing Criminals in the Twenty-First Century by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9781438478111Publication Date: 2020Challenges the established corrections paradigm and argues for replacing mass incarceration with a viable and more humane alternative.
The Death Gap: How Inequality Kills by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9780226428154Publication Date: 2017We hear plenty about the widening income gap between the rich and the poor in America and about the expanding distance separating the haves and the have-nots. But when detailing the many things that the poor have not, we often overlook the most critical--their health. The poor die sooner. Blacks die sooner. And poor urban Blacks die sooner than almost all other Americans. In nearly four decades as a doctor at hospitals serving some of the poorest communities in Chicago, David A. Ansell, MD, has witnessed firsthand the lives behind these devastating statistics. In The Death Gap, he gives a grim survey of these realities, drawn from observations and stories of his patients. While the contrasts and disparities among Chicago's communities are particularly stark, the death gap is truly a nationwide epidemic--as Ansell shows, there is a thirty-five-year difference in life expectancy between the healthiest and wealthiest and the poorest and sickest American neighborhoods. If you are poor, where you live in America can dictate when you die. It doesn't need to be this way; such divisions are not inevitable. Ansell calls out the social and cultural arguments that have been raised as ways of explaining or excusing these gaps, and he lays bare the structural violence--the racism, economic exploitation, and discrimination--that is really to blame. Inequality is a disease, Ansell argues, and we need to treat and eradicate it as we would any major illness. To do so, he outlines a vision that will provide the foundation for a healthier nation--for all. Inequality is all around us, and often the distance between high and low life expectancy can be a matter of just a few blocks. But geography need not be destiny, urges Ansell. In The Death Gap he shows us how we can face this national health crisis head-on and take action against the circumstances that rob people of their dignity and their lives.
The Dirty Side of the Garment Industry: Fast Fashion and Its Negative Impact on Environment and Society by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9781498712231Publication Date: 2016An in-depth examination of the international fashion trade and related goods, this book raises visibility of the ethical aspects of promoting overconsumption through explaining the ecological damange resulting from the high rate of discarding old clothes. It focuses on the promotion, globalization, and integration of the apparel sector into our social and political landscape. It presents an expert overview of the garment industry, highlighting the harsh realities of the environmental and labor problems associated with it. It tracks the commercial and cultural factors that have led to the growth of fast fashion retail and its dominance of the entire industry.
Evaluating Police Uses of Force by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9781479814657Publication Date: 2020Provides a critical understanding and evaluation of police tactics and the use of force. Police violence has historically played an important role in shaping public attitudes toward the government. Community trust and confidence in policing have been undermined by the perception that officers are using force unnecessarily, too frequently, or in problematic ways. The use of force, or harm suffered by a community as a result of such force, can also serve as a flashpoint, a spark that ignites long-simmering community hostility. In Evaluating Police Uses of Force, legal scholar Seth W. Stoughton, former deputy chief of police Jeffrey J. Noble, and distinguished criminologist Geoffrey P. Alpert explore a critical but largely overlooked facet of the difficult and controversial issues of police violence and accountability: how does society evaluate use-of-force incidents? By leading readers through answers to this question from four different perspectives--constitutional law, state law, administrative regulation, and community expectations--and by providing critical information about police tactics and force options that are implicated within those frameworks, Evaluating Police Uses of Force helps situate readers within broader conversations about governmental accountability, the role that police play in modern society, and how officers should go about fulfilling their duties.
From Enforcers to Guardians: A Public Health Primer on Ending Police Violence by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in Virgo.ISBN: 9781421436449Publication Date: 2020Excessive police violence and its disproportionate targeting of minority communities has existed in the United States since police forces first formed in the colonial period. A personal tragedy for its victims, for the people who love them, and for their broader communities, excessive police violence is also a profound violation of human and civil rights. Most public discourse about excessive police violence focuses, understandably, on the horrors of civilian deaths. In From Enforcers to Guardians, Hannah L. F. Cooper and Mindy Thompson Fullilove approach the issue from a radically different angle: as a public health problem. By using a public health framing, this book challenges readers to recognize that the suffering created by excessive police violence extends far outside of death to include sexual, psychological, neglectful, and nonfatal physical violence as well. Arguing that excessive police violence has been deliberately used to marginalize working-class and minority communities, Cooper and Fullilove describe what we know about the history, distribution, and health impacts of police violence, from slave patrols in colonial times to war on drugs policing in the present-day United States.
From Hierarchy to Ethnicity: The Politics of Caste in Twentieth-Century India by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9781108489904Publication Date: 2020Caste and ethnicity have been crucial in shaping the discourse around identity politics in modern South Asia. This book critically discusses two important trends in twentieth-century Indian politics - the rise in the political salience of caste identities, and a shift in the way caste identity was conceptualized; from a hierarchical system based on the adoption of specific behaviours to a system based on bounded and autonomous groups not dissimilar to ethnic groups as conceived of in other parts of the world. It traces these changes to the evolving incentives of the elites of poorer ethnic groups, which are themselves a product of the gradual rise of literacy in colonial South Asia, and the democratization of the political system. This theory challenges accounts that emphasize the role of the colonial state in the evolution of caste. It presents a wide range of novel historical evidence to support these claims, both qualitative and quantitative, and covering both the colonial and post-independence periods.
Health Care As a Right of Citizenship: The Continuing Evolution of Reform by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9780231543316Publication Date: 2019While the Obama administration's Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) has expanded health care coverage for millions of Americans, it has fallen short in offering universal health care to all. In Health Care as a Right of Citizenship, Gunnar Almgren argues that the ACA's primary significance is not in its expansion of health care entitlements but in its affirming by an act of Congress the idea that comprehensive health care must be available to all as a right of citizenship. The mainstream American public now views access to affordable health care to all citizens as a crucial function of just and effective governance-and any proposed alternative to the ACA must be reconciled with that expectation. This ambitious book examines how the American health care system must be further reformed to bring it closer in line with the ideals of a modern democracy, as well as how the ACA may change in the coming years. It suggests the next, natural step in the realization of health and well being as a fundamental human right. Based on a close analysis of the writings of sociologist TH Marshall and philosopher John Rawls, this book examines the theoretical foundations for health care as a social right of citizenship. Almgren then translates these theoretical principles into core health care policy aims. Throughout, he argues that the ACA is but an evolutionary step toward a more radical and fundamental health care reform. Almgren suggests how such a restructured health care system might operate, with specific proposals for its financing and delivery systems. He also explores the special issues and considerations that all nations must grapple with as they seek to provide a sustainable social right to health care.
Honour Killings and Criminal Justice: Social and Legal Challenges in Turkey by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9780429791574Publication Date: 2020Despite recent reforms to the Turkish Penal Code, the country retains a high level of honour-based violence. This book analyses the motives behind honour-based violence in Turkey and examines the criminal justice system's approach to this type of crime. The work takes a socio-legal approach to explore the concepts of honour, patriarchy, and hierarchy, along with the roles of culture and tradition. It also examines how the legal system deals with this phenomenon, focusing on the decisions of the criminal courts in honour killing cases and drawing on prisoner interviews. These analyses show the extent to which the State follows a patriarchal approach when dealing with honour killings and inform recommendations for improving the legal and criminal justice system so as to deter crimes of this nature.
Institutional Racism and Restorative Justice: Oppression and Privilege in America by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9781000756302Publication Date: 2020Invisible, intractable and deadly--such is the nature of institutional racism. But are there mitigating actions that society could take against them? Diane Carpenter Emling explores this question in Institutional Racism and Restorative Justice: Oppression and Privilege in America. Moving beyond the immediate sources and consequences of prejudice, racism and inequality, to thoroughly assess approaches to restorative justice, Emling details America's complex history of racism, demonstrating how it becomes embedded in society through land ownership, housing, education, health care, employment, public services and criminal justice. For each of these issues, she suggests actions to restore justice. But societies don't operate institution by institution, and extraordinary changes will be necessary to address systemic racism.
Invisible Visits: Black Middle-Class Women in the American Healthcare System by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9780190840204Publication Date: 2019Although the United States spends almost one-fifth of all its resources funding healthcare, the American system continues to be dogged by persistent inequities in the treatment of racial and ethnic minorities and women. Invisible Visits analyzes how middle-class Black women navigate the complexities of dealing with doctors in this environment. It challenges the idea that race and gender discrimination-particularly in healthcare settings-is a thing of the past, and questions the persistent myth that discrimination only affects poor racial minorities. In so doing, the book expands our understanding of how Black middle-class women are treated when they go to the doctor, why they continue to face inequities in securing proper medical care, and what strategies they use to fight for the best treatment (as well as the consequential toll on their health). Drawing from original research, the author shines a light on how women perceive the persistently negative stereotypes that follow them into the exam room, and proceeds to illustrate why simply providing more cultural-competency or anti-bias training to doctors will not be enough to overcome the problem. For Americans to truly address these challenges, the deeply embedded discrimination in our prized institutions-including those in the healthcare sector-must be acknowledged.
Living in Denial: Climate Change, Emotions, and Everyday Life by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9780262515856Publication Date: 2011An analysis of why people with knowledge about climate change often fail to translate that knowledge into action. Global warming is the most significant environmental issue of our time, yet public response in Western nations has been meager. Why have so few taken any action? In Living in Denial, sociologist Kari Norgaard searches for answers to this question, drawing on interviews and ethnographic data from her study of "Bygdaby," the fictional name of an actual rural community in western Norway, during the unusually warm winter of 2000-2001. In 2000-2001 the first snowfall came to Bygdaby two months later than usual; ice fishing was impossible; and the ski industry had to invest substantially in artificial snow-making. Stories in local and national newspapers linked the warm winter explicitly to global warming. Yet residents did not write letters to the editor, pressure politicians, or cut down on use of fossil fuels. Norgaard attributes this lack of response to the phenomenon of socially organized denial, by which information about climate science is known in the abstract but disconnected from political, social, and private life, and sees this as emblematic of how citizens of industrialized countries are responding to global warming. Norgaard finds that for the highly educated and politically savvy residents of Bygdaby, global warming was both common knowledge and unimaginable. Norgaard traces this denial through multiple levels, from emotions to cultural norms to political economy. Her report from Bygdaby, supplemented by comparisons throughout the book to the United States, tells a larger story behind our paralysis in the face of today's alarming predictions from climate scientists.
Maternal Mortality, Human Rights and Accountability by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9780415534581Publication Date: 2013The scale of maternal mortality and morbidity today is staggering. This book focuses on a vital part of a human rights response to maternal mortality, viz. accountability. Accountability encompasses monitoring, review and redress at the local, national and international levels. The book's context includes the UN Human Rights Council maternal mortality and morbidity resolutions, as well as Millennium Development Goal 5. It comes out of a roundtable conference held in Geneva during 2010 that examined maternal mortality, human rights and accountability and provided a forum where maternal health and human rights experts could listen to, and learn from, each other. As well as revised and updated conference papers, this volume includes a rich collection of additional resource material on maternal mortality, human rights and accountability.
Myth and Reality in the U. S. Immigration Debate by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9781317221548Publication Date: 2021"What part of illegal don't you understand?" This oft-repeated slogan from immigration restrictionists illustrates the contentious quality of the immigration reform debate in the United States: a debate that has raged on unresolved since at least 1986 when our immigration system was last reformed. This impasse is due, in large part, to widespread misinformation about immigration. This short and accessible textbook takes a critical perspective on immigration law and policy, arguing that immigrant "illegality" is itself produced by law, with tremendous consequences for individuals and families. Across six chapters that examine the conceptual, historical, economic, global, legal, and racial dimensions of immigration to the United States, Prieto argues that illegal immigration is a problem of policy, not people. History and cutting-edge social science data guide an analysis of the actual, empirical impact of immigration on U.S. society. By debunking myths about immigration, the reader is invited to form their own opinion on the basis of fact and in light of the unequal treatment different immigrant groups have received since the nation's founding. Myth and Reality in the U.S. Immigration Debate synthesizes key lessons from the fields of sociology, law and society, history, economics and critical race studies in a digestible and engaging format. This text will serve as an introduction to the study of immigration and a primer for those who wish to engage in a sober and compassionate conversation about immigrants and immigration in the United States.
The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness by Call Number: Ebook - Use link in Virgo record to access.ISBN: 1620971941Publication Date: 2020"A tenth-anniversary edition of the iconic bestseller' "one of the most influential books of the 20 years," according to the Chronicle of Higher Education. Seldom does a book have the impact of Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow. Since it was first published in 2010, it has been cited in judicial decisions and has been adopted in campus-wide and community-wide reads; it helped inspire the creation of the Marshall Project and the new $100 million Art for Justice Fund; it has been the winner of numerous prizes, including the prestigious NAACP Image Award; and it has spent nearly 250 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list. Most important of all, it has spawned a whole generation of criminal justice reform activists and organizations motivated by Michelle Alexander's unforgettable argument that "we have not ended racial caste in America; we have merely redesigned it." As the Birmingham News proclaimed, it is "undoubtedly the most important book published in this century about the U.S." Now, ten years after it was first published, The New Press is proud to issue a tenth-anniversary edition with a new preface by Michelle Alexander that discusses the impact the book has had and the state of the criminal justice reform movement today."--Provided by publisher.
Of Others Inside: Insanity, Addiction, and Belonging in America by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9781592134045Publication Date: 2005There is little doubt among scientists and the general public that homelessness, mental illness, and addiction are inter-related. In Of Others Inside, Darin Weinberg examines how these inter-relations have taken form in the United States. He links the establishment of these connections to the movement of mental health and addiction treatment from redemptive processes to punitive ones and back again, and explores the connection between social welfare, rehabilitation, and the criminal justice system. Seeking to offer a new sociological understanding of the relationship between social exclusion and mental disability, Of Others Inside considers the general social conditions of homelessness, poverty, and social marginality in the U.S. Weinberg also explores questions about American perceptions of these conditions, and examines in great detail the social reality of mental disability and drug addiction without reducing people's suffering to simple notions of biological fate or social disorder.
Policing the Womb: Invisible Women and the Criminalization of Motherhood by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9781107030176Publication Date: 2020Policing the Womb brings to life the chilling ways in which women have become the targets of secretive state surveillance of their pregnancies. Michele Goodwin expands the reproductive health and rights debate beyond abortion to include how legislators increasingly turn to criminalizing women for miscarriages, stillbirths, and threatening the health of their pregnancies. The horrific results include women giving birth while shackled in leg irons, in solitary confinement, and even delivering in prison toilets. In some states, pregnancy has become a bargaining chip with prosecutors offering reduced sentences in exchange for women agreeing to be sterilized. The author shows how prosecutors may abuse laws and infringe women's rights in the process, sometimes with the complicity of medical providers who disclose private patient information to law enforcement. Often the women most affected are poor and of color. This timely book brings to light how the unrestrained efforts to punish and police women's bodies have led to the United States being the deadliest country in the developed world to be pregnant.
Race, Ethnicity, and Consumption: A Sociological View by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9781315121147Publication Date: 2021Race, Ethnicity, and Consumption: A Sociological View looks at the central concerns of consumer culture through the lens of race and ethnicity. Each chapter illustrates the connections between race, ethnicity, and consumption by focusing on a specific theme: identity, crossing cultures, marketing and advertising, neighborhoods, discrimination, and social activism. By exploring issues such as multicultural marketing, cultural appropriation, consumer racial profiling, urban food deserts, and racialized political consumerism, students, scholars, and other curious readers will gain insight on the ways that racial and ethnic boundaries shape, and are shaped by, consumption. This book goes beyond the typical treatments of race and ethnicity in introductory texts on consumption by not only providing a comprehensive overview of the major theories and concepts that sociologists use to make sense of consumption, race, and ethnicity, but also by examining these themes within distinctly contemporary contexts such as digital platforms and activism. Documenting the complexities and contradictions within consumer culture, Race, Ethnicity, and Consumption is an excellent text for sociology courses on consumers and consumption, race and ethnicity, the economy, and inequality. It will also be an informative resource for courses on consumer culture in the broader social sciences, marketing, and the humanities.
The School to Prison Pipeline: The Role of Culture and Discipline in School by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9781787143425Publication Date: 2017This edited volume focuses on the role that school climate and disciplinary practices have on the educational and social experiences of students of color. Drawing from quantitative, qualitative, and theoretical studies, it brings to bear a number of topics such as racialized school experiences; criminology, discursive deviance and punishment and carceral studies; urban studies; school administration and leadership; and, a number of critical theorist frameworks. Practical insights are offered to assist administrators, teachers, school counsellors, and other school and non-school based professionals on how to address not only disparities in school discipline, but also create and promote an inclusive, affirming positive school culture and climate. With applications in disciplinary studies and criminology, leadership studies, critical race theory and other critical frameworks, this volume is a valuable resource advancing new theoretical concepts.
Social Class and Educational Inequality: The Impact of Parents and Schools by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9781107562301Publication Date: 2015Social class is often seen as an intractable barrier to success, yet a number of children from disadvantaged backgrounds still manage to show resilience and succeed against the odds. This book presents the findings from fifty Child and Family Case Studies (CFCS) conducted with 13-16 year olds. The authors look specifically at the roles that people and experiences - at home, in schools and in the wider community - have played in the learning life-courses of these children; how these factors have affected their achievement; and explanations and meanings given by respondents to the unique characteristics, experiences and events in their lives. Featuring the voices of real parents and children, and backed up by a decade of quantitative data, this is a compelling record that will help readers to understand the complex nature of social disadvantage and the interplay between risk and protective factors in homes and schools that can make for a transformational educational experience.
Tight Knit: Global Families and the Social Life of Fashion by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9780226557915Publication Date: 2018The coveted "Made in Italy" label calls to mind visions of nimble-fingered Italian tailors lovingly sewing elegant, high-end clothing. The phrase evokes a sense of authenticity, heritage, and rustic charm. Yet, as Elizabeth L. Krause uncovers in Tight Knit, Chinese migrants are the ones sewing "Made in Italy" labels into low-cost items for a thriving fast-fashion industry--all the while adding new patterns to the social fabric of Italy's iconic industry. Krause offers a revelatory look into how families involved in the fashion industry are coping with globalization based on long term research in Prato, the historic hub of textile production in the heart of metropolitan Tuscany. She brings to the fore the tensions--over value, money, beauty, family, care, and belonging--that are reaching a boiling point as the country struggles to deal with the same migration pressures that are triggering backlash all over Europe and North America. Tight Knit tells a fascinating story about the heterogeneity of contemporary capitalism that will interest social scientists, immigration experts, and anyone curious about how globalization is changing the most basic of human conditions--making a living and making a life.
White Negroes: When Cornrows Were in Vogue . . . And Other Thoughts on Cultural Appropriation by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9780807011805Publication Date: 2019Exposes the new generation of whiteness thriving at the expense and borrowed ingenuity of black people--and explores how this intensifies racial inequality. American culture loves blackness. From music and fashion to activism and language, black culture constantly achieves worldwide influence. Yet, when it comes to who is allowed to thrive from black hipness, the pioneers are usually left behind as black aesthetics are converted into mainstream success--and white profit. Weaving together narrative, scholarship, and critique, Lauren Michele Jackson reveals why cultural appropriation--something that's become embedded in our daily lives--deserves serious attention. It is a blueprint for taking wealth and power, and ultimately exacerbates the economic, political, and social inequity that persists in America. She unravels the racial contradictions lurking behind American culture as we know it--from shapeshifting celebrities and memes gone viral to brazen poets, loveable potheads, and faulty political leaders. An audacious debut, White Negroes brilliantly summons a re-interrogation of Norman Mailer's infamous 1957 essay of a similar name. It also introduces a bold new voice in Jackson. Piercing, curious, and bursting with pop cultural touchstones, White Negroes is a dispatch in awe of black creativity everywhere and an urgent call for our thoughtful consumption.
The Working Classes and Higher Education by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in Virgo.ISBN: 9781317444916Publication Date: 2015Within the broader context of the global knowledge economy, wherein the "college-for-all" discourse grows more and more pervasive and systems of higher education become increasingly stratified by social class, important and timely questions emerge regarding the future social location and mobility of the working classes. Though the working classes look very different from the working classes of previous generations, the weight of a universal working-class identity/background amounts to much of the same economic vulnerability and negative cultural stereotypes, all of which continue to present obstacles for new generations of working-class youth, many of whom pursue higher education as a necessity rather than a "choice." Using a sociological lens, contributors examine the complicated relationship between the working classes and higher education through students' distinct experiences, challenges, and triumphs during three moments on a transitional continuum: the transition from secondary to higher education; experiences within higher education; and the transition from higher education to the workforce. In doing so, this volume challenges the popular notion of higher education as a means to equality of opportunity and social mobility for working-class students.
