Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENWR 3640: Writing with Sound

Podcast project research guide for students in Steph Ceraso's Fall 2021 ENWR 3640 class.

Preparing for Research

In preparation for your podcast project, your group will need to think about some possible questions to start your research into an aspect of the history of slavery at UVA. You will also want to spend some time thinking about how you will conduct your research. 

  • Fine-tune your searches.
    Think broadly when brainstorming search terms. What synonyms or related terms could stand in for your key search terms?
    You can combine search terms using AND ("University of Virginia" AND slavery) and OR: ("enslaved laborer" OR slave) AND ("University of Virginia" OR UVA) 
    In many databases, the asterisk (*) is a truncation or "wildcard" symbol  that will match all possible endings for a word stem. For example, enslave* will match with enslave, enslaved, enslavement, etc. 
    Most databases have filters or facets that allow you to narrow your results by subject, date range, etc. Limit your searches to help you find the sources you need. 

     
  • Think about where you might find the type of information you are seeking.​
    Will you find the research you need in an book? An article? A newspaper? A letter, manuscript, or university records in Special Collections or UVA Archives? An interview? Cast a wide net when looking for the types of resources that could help answer your research questions or support an argument you are thinking of making.

     
  • When you find a good source, use it to find other good sources. 
    Use the subject terms and keywords associated with an item to find other items on similar topics. Scholarly books and articles will have works cited, bibliographies, or footnotes you can mine for additional resources. 

Need help? Contact Sherri or Ask a librarian.  

Books of possible interest, UVA-specific

Digital Collections & sites of possible interest

Historical Newspaper & Serials Collections

Journal Articles, Theses, Etc.

Kelley Fanto Deetz (2018) Finding dignity in a landscape of fear: enslaved women and girls at the University of Virginia, Slavery & Abolition, 39:2, 251-266, DOI: 10.1080/0144039X.2018.1446787
 
Neale, Catherine S. and Ayers, Edward (advisor). Slaves, Freedpeople, and the University of Virginia. Charlottesville, VA: University of Virginia, Corcoran Department of History, BA (Bachelor of Arts), 2006, doi.org/10.18130/V3VW35.
 
Nesbit, S. (2004). The Education of William Gibbons. Magazine of Albemarle County History62, 94–126. Link to record in America: History and Life (database).