Welcome
Welcome to the portal for MDST 4510: Civil Rights Movement and the Media. The portal provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Erin Pappas
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Erin for help with your assignments. This service is available to all students. Meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and research more efficiently.
Erin can help with: locating academic sources, brainstorming research topics, developing search strategies, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your research and literature reviews, and citation management. Meetings take place online via Zoom.
Historical Media and Primary Sources
- International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013 This link opens in a new windowExplore diverse coverage from this international newspaper, including its runs as The New York Herald and the New York Herald Tribune.
- Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s This link opens in a new windowThis archive sheds light on the internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent radical groups in the United States in the 1960s.
- Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963 This link opens in a new windowThis archive details Operation Oak Tree, the code name for the Army's plans to intervene in Alabama in the event of civil disturbances related to school integration in May 1963. The documents in this collection are sourced from the Records of the Department of the Army.
- Political Extremism in the 20th Century This link opens in a new windowA compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements.
Historical Periodicals - Newspapers
- International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013 This link opens in a new windowExplore diverse coverage from this international newspaper, including its runs as The New York Herald and the New York Herald Tribune.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowNew York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Washington Post, and The Guardian & The Observer.
- Sunday Times Historical Archive: 1822-2021 This link opens in a new windowThis archive is an important resource for the humanities and social sciences, especially in history, media studies, journalism, literature, cultural studies, politics, and theater.
Historical Periodicals - Magazines
- Esquire Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1933-2014
Esquire Magazine Archive delivers coverage of the award-winning American men’s magazine in the areas of politics, men’s fashion, entertainment, fiction and pop culture. It includes more than 900 issues providing a broad view of 20th-Century American thought through cultural and current events. - GQ Archive This link opens in a new windowThe backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general men’s-interest subjects.
- Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Life Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1936 of the American variety magazine Life, published by Time Inc.
- News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek) This link opens in a new windowAn archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century.
- Rolling Stone Archive This link opens in a new windowThe backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture.
- Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Time Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1923 of the American popular magazine Time, published by Time Inc.
Women's Periodicals
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowA searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included, with rich indexing enabling researchers to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
- Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowAn archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
African-American Periodicals
- Ebony Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowEbony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.
- Jet Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowJet was originally published as a sister publication to Ebony Magazine by John H. Johnson beginning in 1951. It was published weekly and covered art, fashion, entertainment, culture and news related to the African-American community.
This full-text archive is searchable from cover to cover and offers essential historical content. Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate information. Coverage is from 1951-2014. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA subset of the larger ProQuest Historical Newspapers, this is a collection of several prominent black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, Baltimore Afro-American, and NY Amsterdam News.