Welcome
Welcome to the library dashboard for ARH 4591: Pilgrimage . The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need for your research and assignments. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Rebecca Coleman
Rebecca can help with: refining your topic, gathering research, finding images and site documentation, locating maps and data, organizing your research, citations, and more! She can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Request content any time
- I need scanned chapter(s) from a print book in the LibraryNOTE: this option is available to graduate students and faculty only at this time.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, images, reports, news, and more. These are the most used databases for architectural history research.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Use Advanced Search if you get too many results; use Preferences to turn on links to Find@UVa.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowArt & Architecture Source is a full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowFind articles and book reviews in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning in journals from many countries. Coverage begins in the 1930s, but some journals are indexed back to the the 1860s. Many citations include abstracts.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowSearch for books and articles in periodicals about Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews.
- IMB: International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowLists articles from books and journals on any topic relating to the European Middle Ages (ca. 400-1500).
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971-present) This link opens in a new windowLists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews.
- Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new windowThis project provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing in fact and in fantasy. The core of the material is a magnificent collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world and dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China.
- Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture This link opens in a new windowThis resource presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveler between 1850 and the 1980s. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new windowJournals, newsletters, industry reports, and some books covering topics such as culinary arts, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel.
Locate more resources by program or topic
- See Resources in Other Subject AreasWe have guides to the databases in many areas-- history, politics, business, sciences, etc. If your research touches on these subjects, check out the databases listed on that guide, too!
Reference Resources
Reference resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias and other sources that offer access to factual information. Many of these resources are deeply focused on particular subjects, which can help you to find the appropriate definition for a particular discipline or time period.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific with links to tens of thousands of images.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowA large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Handbooks Online brings together leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve. UVa has access to all subjects.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowDeveloped cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides to a variety of subjects. UVa subscribes to all subjects.
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic and iconographic database listing over 100,000 works of art produced from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. Entries include citations to articles and books about the object.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowFull text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
See also Finding Dissertations
Image Sources
- ARTStor This link opens in a new windowImages of world art from all periods, including paintings, drawings, prints, historic photographs, architecture and design.
- FlickrUser-submitted images. Includes collections from numerous cultural institutions around the world.
Tip: Search geotagged images at https://www.flickr.com/map
Museum Collections
The Smithsonian Institution Libraries maintains an excellent list of museums with collections of Asian and Middle Eastern art.
Search Virgo
Help me with citations
Different disciplines use different styles of citation. Please check to determine which style is right for your course and assignment. Remember that citations are important for crediting ideas, designs, data sources, image creators, and more.
- Use Zotero to organize your sources and generate bibliographiesGuide to downloading and using Zotero, a free application that collects, manages, and cites research sources.
Google Tips & Tricks
These tips can help you locate better information on the web, faster. But remember- a lot of information is not freely available on the web, no matter how well you search!
- Put quotation marks around words that you want to stick together as a phrase
- Add "site:.gov" to the end of your search to ONLY search websites on government domains
- Add "site:website.com" to search only the content of a specific site (for example: charlottesville.org!)
- Add "filetype:pdf" to ONLY search for information you think is likely to be in PDF format (reports, documents, etc.)
- Use the minus sign or dash to eliminate results that are off target (Example: food system -digestive)
- Remember that Google is only a computer, and doesn't understand the concepts in your search. So, try your search using different keywords and phrases that mean the same thing.
Download library apps and software
- Libkey Nomad Browser ExtensionUpon finding an article on any website, Libkey Nomad identifies if the Library has access (and directs you to the full PDF of the article), or if not, directs you to Interlibrary Loan to allow you to get quick access to any article, anywhere.
- ZoteroAnother free alternative to Refworks - collect, organize, cite and share your research sources. Downloads to your web browser on your personal computer. Is especially good for saving and linking to digital objects and web pages.