Welcome
Welcome to the Sociology library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Christine Slaughter
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Christine for help with your assignments. This service is available to all Sociology students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and get a better grade.
Christine can help with: learning how to use the Library online, brainstorming your research topic, developing your search strategy, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your literature reviews, tracking down resources, and citation management. Christine can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are some of the most useful databases for Sociology research.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar is a free academic search engine that can be thought of as the academic version of Google. It searches repositories of publishers, universities, or scholarly websites. Sync with UVA Library to access PDFs.
- SSRN: Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new windowSSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Its eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts of over 542,600 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 445,100 downloadable full text documents in pdf format.
Help me with ASA citations
For many courses in Sociology our preferred citation style is ASA, but always check with your professor to make sure you are following the guidelines for a given assignment.
- ZoteroZotero is free citation management software that helps you collect, cite, and share research, using any of dozens of different styles, including ASA.
Search Virgo
Consult handbooks and review journals
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral SciencesThe International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences comprises over 3,900 articles that offer expert summaries of a wide variety of social science concepts.
- Annual Review of SociologyThe Annual Review of Sociology is a journal of reviews that summarize trends in sociological research from the 1970s to the present.
Explore datasets/data repositories
- ICPSR This link opens in a new windowThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Users may view documentation, download raw data, and search a bibliography of data-related literature. (You must create a personal ICPSR account with your virginia.edu email address in order to download data.)
- SAGE Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves.