Special Education
1-1 consults
Need help? Schedule a 1-1 consultation with our Education and Human Development library team.
Search for research articles
Special education research often overlaps with developmental science, psychology, and health sciences. Because no single database covers everything, a strong search strategy means looking in at least three different databases.
This page highlights the best places to start.
Quick start: best places to begin
-
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe main database for education, including research on special education programs, interventions, and policy.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowBroad and easy to use, this is the academic version of Google.
-
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowBest for research on learning differences, developmental disorders, and behavioral supports.
Behavior & child development
Use these for research on developmental disabilities, behavior supports, and child learning differences.
-
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new windowThis database contains references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
-
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and full-text of almost 600 journals in psychology and related fields.
In the classroom
Use these databases if your project focuses on teaching practices, classroom strategies, or educational technology.
-
What Works Clearinghouse This link opens in a new windowWhat Works Clearinghouse (WWC) gathers studies of the effectiveness of educational interventions (programs, products, practices, and policies) and reports on their strengths and weaknesses.
-
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowTeacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals.
Health & disability
These databases cover the medical side of special education, including interventions and therapies.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowFrom the National Library of Medicine with millions of articles in medicine, health, and life sciences. Excellent for research on developmental conditions, therapies, and health-related aspects of special education.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowHigh-quality systematic reviews on therapies, treatments, and interventions, often used in evidence-based practice.
-
Medline (OVID) This link opens in a new windowResearch on medical, neurological, and developmental conditions affecting learning (e.g., autism, ADHD, dyslexia, sensory impairments).
-
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, physical therapy, and allied health interventions that overlap with special education.
Interdisciplinary
Use these if your question crosses subject areas or you want a broad search across disciplines.
-
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCovers education, psychology, and health sciences.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge, interdisciplinary database. Good for systematic reviews and exploring how research on special education connects across fields.