WGS 3500 - Hagerman [F25]: Welcome
Welcome
Welcome to the UVA Library Portal for WGS 3500: Issues and Controversies in Women's Sport. This Portal links to some of the resources you'll be using in your research project for this course, and methods of contacting your librarian for support.
From recent laws passed about trans females’ participation in sport (at the high school, collegiate and Olympic levels) to doping controversies to , this class will consider what it means to be a woman in sport (and how that is defined) and what it means for women’s equality in society more broadly. Issues addressed include the selling of the female athlete, social activism, gender verification, equal pay, injuries, and the media’s treatment of sportswomen.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Erin Pappas
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Erin for help with your assignments. This service is available to all students. Meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and research more efficiently.
Erin can help with: locating academic sources, brainstorming research topics, developing search strategies, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your research and literature reviews, and citation management. Meetings take place online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Research Tools
-
Assignment CalculatorThe Assignment Calculator breaks down research and writing projects into manageable steps based on your due dates.
-
Organizing Your Research - Research LogsKeeping a research log (or research diary) can help you organize your literature searching time so that you don't duplicate searches, feel lost or overwhelmed and can help you to be a more efficient and successful searcher.
New York Times Access
TUTORIAL / SLIDESHOW
-
NYT ACCESS
-
ACCOUNT SETUP
-
TROUBLESHOOTING
-
TIMES MACHINE
-
BROWSING BY DATE
-
SCREENSHOTS/PDFS
Search Virgo
Search for academic articles
-
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowInternational database covering sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, coaching, recreation, and more. Includes book reviews.
-
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowFind journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses & dissertations, documents and other materials on all aspects of women's studies.
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowLGBT Life with Full Text is the definitive database for LGBT studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE hosts more than 800 journals and more than 90,000 books covering the humanities and social sciences from nearly 400 leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers.
Primary Source Collections
-
American History in Video This link opens in a new windowOver 5000 films, commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries showing historical events and their presentation over time.
-
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new windowEssential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
-
Olympic Movement: Sport, Global Politics and Identity This link opens in a new windowBringing together unique primary sources drawn from key archival collections, The Olympic Movement presents a documentary record of the origins, expansion and growth of the Olympic Games, and the global history of sport. Through a broad range of sources including correspondence, official reports, newsletters and film footage, researchers can chart the history of sport and its relationships with culture, society, business, media and politics between the 1890s and 1990s.
-
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowAn archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Sports Illustrated
-
Sports Illustrated VaultThe Vault is an archive of maintained and curated content by the editors of Sports Illustrated.
-
Sports Illustrated on the Internet ArchiveScans and uploads of SI issues; user-contributed and not systematic, but easily browsable and downloadable.
-
Sports Illustrated Archive [1984-2025]Reports and interprets the world of sport, recreation and active leisure. It previews, analyzes and comments upon major games and events, as well as those noteworthy for character and spirit alone.
Statistics and Data
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
Choose University of Virginia in the drop-down list under “If you have access” and login through NetBadge.
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.