Over 36 million records from libraries around the world including U.Va. This database is a wonderful source for bibliographic information on books, journals, manuscripts, videos, etc.
- Oxford English Dictionary
This edition of the OED is updated quarterly and features both simple and advanced search interfaces.
- Dictionary of American Regional English
DARE focuses on the regional aspects of American English, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. This online version provides interactive maps, audio field recordings, and fielded searching.
- English Short Title Catalogue
Bibliographic description and library locations for books and pamphlets in English on all subjects printed from 1473 to 1800 anywhere in the world.
- Dissertations and Theses Online
Indexes dissertations from 1861 to the present. Abstracts are available from 1980 onward, and dissertations published since 1997 are available in their entirety as PDF files.
- Theatre in Video
Streaming video of over 350 productions of plays from Aeschylus through Shakespeare and Beckett to Sam Shepherd. Also documentaries about productions and interviews with authors, directors, and actors.
- Scribner Writers Online
Contains biographical and critical essays on the work of important writers. Volumes in this series include American Writers, British Writers, European Writers, and the World and Genre Writers Series.
- Twaynes Authors Online
Reference source that provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of prominent authors. Covers United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors.
- NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship)
NINES is an organization of 19th century scholars. Through its Collex interface, it provides cross-collection searching of aggregated, peer-reviewed online scholarship in British and American nineteenth-century studies.
- Literary Research Guide
Annotated guide to essential reference sources for literary study. Fully searchable and updated quarterly.
- Oxford Reference Online
A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Lives of British persons from the earliest times to the end of the 20th century. IMPORTANT: our access is limited; please click the LOGOUT link when done.
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Encyclopedia of geographical places and features profiles every country in the world with information on demography, geography, industry, agriculture, cultural and historical points of interest, transportation, and pronunciations.
- Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640
Covers over 700 early women authors, both canonical and obscure. Entries list each author's writings, including later editions, along with sources for criticism and reception history up through the present day.
- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.