Computer Science
Computer Science Subject Guides
Science & Engineering Librarian
Maggie Nunley
she/her
Contact:
Brown Library, Clark Hall
Office I-053
(Intermediate Floor, Room 053)
Office I-053
(Intermediate Floor, Room 053)
434-924-1343
Core Databases for CS
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCitations and full-text of articles from ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings relating to the computing industry.
- Computer and Information Systems Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPart of the Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection. Lists journal articles, conference proceedings, tech reports, patents, books, and industry news on topics such as artificial intelligence, information systems, computer applications/programming, hardware, software engineering and mathematics of computing.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new windowJournals and other reference sources covering engineering and the business and social aspects of new technology as well as computer theory and systems.
- Ei Compendex*Plus This link opens in a new window1969-present
A large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews, standards, patents, handbooks, and other materials. - Electronics and Communications Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPart of Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Index. Search for publications on such topics as circuits, components, photonics, telecommunications and telecommunications equipment.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowFind articles and other information from the journals, proceedings and standards published by IEEE and by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text is from 1988 to present with some selected earlier content.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
- Inspec This link opens in a new windowScientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in computing, electrical engineering, physics. Updated monthly.
- Inspec Archive Science Abstracts (1898-1968) This link opens in a new windowThe Inspec Archive Science Abstracts provides access to 71 years of science abstracts in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, and control technology. NOTE: You may have better luck with a search by first unchecking the "Map Term to Subject Heading" option.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowMathSciNet (from the American Mathematical Society) contains information on over 4 million articles and books, with direct links to over 2.7 million articles in over 1,800 journals covering pure and applied mathematics. MathSciNet includes expert reviews (dating back to 1940), disambiguated author profiles, and citation information (dating back to the 1880s). on articles, books, journals, and authors. Over 80,000 expert reviews are published each year, and the database is updated hourly.
- NTIS: National Technical Information Service This link opens in a new windowNTIS contains bibliographic citations and summaries of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments.
From the drop-down menu, choose: Not listed? Click here. Then enter UVa email address to access content.
Instructors: If you are using books on O’Reilly as course textbooks, please be aware that O’Reilly can and does pull titles mid-semester without notice to the Library. - ProQuest SciTech Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database combines full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
- SIAM: Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics This link opens in a new windowJournals on applied mathematics, mathematics, systems, and control. Electronic editions are published well ahead of the print versions. Includes book reviews.
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of journals and ebooks published by Springer and its subsidiaries such as Physica and Birkhäuser in chemistry, geosciences, computer science, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, law, and economics.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new window1981-present
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately.