ARH 102: Renaissance to ModernARH 491 - Medieval MediterraneanARH 800ARH/ARAH 912ISHU 355SARC 600
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Architectural History and Preservation  Tags: architecture preservation history resources  

Last update: Apr 06th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/architecturepreservation  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ISHU 355             Print Page
  

Tips

 

ARTstor Downloading

This video will guide you through the process of downloading an ARTstor video as a .jpg file.  For more information, see the ARTstor Help pages.


Loading Video Clip...
 
 

ISHU 355

Sources and Development of Modern Architecture & Design

Instruction Evaluation

 

Fine Arts Library

General Library Information

Rebecca Cooper, Architecture Librarian: rac8f@virginia.edu

 

VIRGO (books) | General Info | Databases (articles) | Images | Websites

 

First things first.....your search strategy

Think about your research topic. What are the most important aspects?  What words and phrases can be used to describe that topic?

Remember:  Computers can't think!  Beware of plurals, synonyms, homographs, etc. when searching the library catalog or databases.

 

Find Books

VIRGO- The libary Catalog

There are three options when searching VIRGO:

1-Keyword, a specific word or words relating to your topic such as William Morris or Bauhaus .

2-Begins With, the first words (usually used when searching for a title) such as Architecture and Design.

3-Exact, the exact words you are looking for such as an exact title or a specific name such as Exekias.

Within these catagories there are several ways to construct your search. It is important to remember that VIRGO utilizes boolean operators (and/or/not) and that they are essential in constructing your searches. Also, VIRGO uses '$' as its truncation symbol. When searching VIRGO always choose 'ALL' Libraries. You do not want to eliminate the very important work that may be housed in Alderman or Clemons.

When researching by topic, I suggest using the "Keyword" option, combined with a "subject" or "search all" selection.


 

Find Background Information & Conceptual Basics

 

Grove Art Online

Access to over 41,000 articles on the arts and cultures of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific as well as links to tens of thousands of images.

 

Oxford Reference Online

Search the Art and Architecture section to find definitions, brief biographies, etc.

 

Find Articles about your topic

HINT:  Search Avery Index, BHA, and DAAI at the same time by choosing the "Arts & Humanities" option under "Change" below the search box.

Avery Index

Indexes over 2,000 periodicals on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and architecture; includes publication dates from the 1930s (with selective coverage from 1741) to the present.

 

BHA

Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 AD) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. The Bibliography of the History of Art is updated quarterly and covers 1973 to the present.

 

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index

Indexes over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers.

 

Art Index

Choose both Art Index and Art Index Retro for complete coverage. Art Index covers periodical literature from throughout the world and is a good place to search for articles on Asian architecture. This database will have some full text.

 

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

Find Images

ARTstor

Images of world art from all periods. Paintings, drawings and prints plus architecture and design are represented. Special collections include Asian and American art, Buddhist paintings and sculpture and historic photographs.  Help using ARTstor is available on the ARTstor website.  There is a brief video describing how to download images from ARTstor on the left-hand side of this page, as well.

 

Find material online, from reliable sources


Contact the Librarian: Rebecca Cooper | 243.4837 | rac8f@virginia.edu

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageRebecca Cooper


Contact Info:
Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-243-4837
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait