State of the News Media, 2012
Columbia Journalism Review Archives
- Columbia Journalism Review ArchivesFull-text back to 1962. From the EBSCO database.
Tips
Use Google's FastFlip to browse sequentially through bundles of recent news, headlines and popular topics, as well as feeds from individual top publishers.
Find Specific Newspaper Titles at UVA
- Find specific newspaper titles in all formats at UVA by searching Journal Finder.
- Search UVA's U.S, Historical Newspapers Database by date, by state, or both, to find listings of newspapers in microfilm held at Alderman Library . Please note: this database cannot be searched by title.
Popular Newspaper Databases
- Ethnic NewswatchBlingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of newspapers and journals of US ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage varies by title, earliest is back to about 1980.
- FactivaFull-text, thousands of sources from all over the world, in 22 languages. Coverage varies by title, some back to 1980s. Use for Wall St. Journal back to 1979. NOTE: click on News Pages to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries.
- LexisNexis AcademicFull-text of hundreds of U.S. and some foreign newspapers. Coverage varies by title, some back to 1980s. Includes full-text of news program transcripts and university newspapers (including UVA's Cavalier Daily). NOTE: see Federal News Service and the FDCH News Service Capitol Report in Lexis/Nexis.
- Proquest Historical NewspapersSearchable and browseable facsimiles of the New York Times (1851-2006), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1992), the Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), The Chicago Defender (), the Washington Post (1877-1993), and Los Angeles Times (1881-1986).
Print Newspapers Received Daily at UVA Libraries
-
Alderman
New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Richmond-Times-Dispatch and Daily Progress.
-
Brown
New York Times -
Darden
USA Today, Washington Post, Richmond-Times-Dispatch and Daily Progress.
-
Health Sciences
Monday-Friday: New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Richmond-Times-Dispatch and Daily Progress.
Saturday-Sunday: New York Times, Washington Post, Richmond-Times-Dispatch and Daily Progress.
-
Law
Financial Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Richmond-Times-Dispatch and Daily Progress.
Newspapers |
Newspapers Links: Profile & Guides |
Free News Media on the Web
- Kidon Media LinkNewspapers, news agencies, magazines, tv and radio stations. Search by geographical area, by country or by language.

Loading...
