Best General Resources
Fulltext access to handbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering including Perry's Chemical Engineer's Handbook. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering. Many handbooks include interactive tables, equation plotters, and other tools for manipulating data.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
This Handbook provides broad coverage of all types of physical science data commonlyneeded by scientists and engineers. This updated edition includes new tables on:
• Ionic Liquids - a class of solvents that is receiving considerable attention because of their environmentally
friendly properties.
• Solubility of Organic Compounds in Pressurized Hot Water - another promising technique for reducing the
dependence on organic solvents in chemical engineering.
• Solubility of Hydrocarbons in Seawater - important data for studying ocean pollution.
• Nutrient Values of Foods - Recommended data on the energy and mineral content of common foods.
• Properties of Organic Semiconductors - Data on a class of semiconductors that is becoming more
important in the electronics industry.
The new edition also has major updates and expansions of several widely used tables, bringing the
coverage up to date through 2006. These tables cover the following topics:
• Critical temperature and pressure of fluids
• Enthalpy of vaporization of inorganic and organic compounds
• Thermodynamic properties of air
• Aqueous solubility of organic compounds
• Dipole moments of molecules
• Bond dissociation energies
• Properties of fundamental particles
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, property data, chemical reactions, and bibliographic information.
Reaxys starts with the query form, which allows you to enter reaction, substance or textual information. These 3 query types are organized in 3 query tabs that enable you to enter a query in a variety of ways. You can draw a structure or reaction using a structure editor, load a previously saved structure or reaction, or generate a structure by typing a name. You can add further search conditions by including bibliographic and properties data in your query. You can save your query in XML format by clicking the Save Query button.
A typical workflow is as follows:
1. Double-click the structure/reaction query window and launch an external editor
2. Draw the structure/reaction query you have in mind with this editor
3. Close the editor to transfer the drawn query into Reaxys
4. Click the Search button
5. Browse the results and apply filters if necessary
ChemSpider is a chemistry search engine. It has been built with the intention of aggregating and indexing chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository and to make it available to everybody, at no charge.
ChemSpider is a value-added offering of publicly available chemical structures since many additional properties have been added to each of the chemical structures. With ChemSpider the intention is to aggregate into a single database all chemical structures available within open access and commercial databases and to provide the necessary pointers from the ChemSpider search engine to the information of interest. This service will allow users to either access the data immediately via open access links or have the information necessary to continue their searches into commercially available systems.
Subject Librarian |
Beth Blanton-Kent![]() |
Contact Info:
Brown Sci & Eng Library
Room: I042
434-924-6837
Email: bwb9f@virginia.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Astronomy, Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Physics
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait