LibGuides: Chemistry: Find Articles & Meeting Papers

Try First

SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Chemical Abstracts, including the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database. Also indexes papers presented at National ACS Meetings. If you have not yet created an account, please register using your "@virginia.edu" email.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys is a unique web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface.
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-) Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
Use the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to find impact factors for journals in science, social sciences, and technology.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations from MedLine and other biomedical articles from the 1950s on.

ProQuest SciTech Collection This link opens in a new window This database combines full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Find journal articles on biological and biomedical research and related areas such as environmental studies, agriculture, biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology and bioengineering
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window Combines the databases Compendex, Inspec, Inspec Archive, and NTIS with one search interface. API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Large general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.

PapersFirst This link opens in a new window
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia.
Proceedings This link opens in a new window
Find proceedings from conferences and workshops of all types.

NexisUni This link opens in a new window
News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Access, provided through VIVA Consortium, is limited to 70 concurrent users.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full text of major American newspapers and some foreigh newspapers plus selected atories from other US regional newspapers. Also includes full-text of transcripts for television and radio network news broadcasts.
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
Information from thousands of foreign media sources: speeches, radio, television, newspapers, periodicals, and books. Includes unclassified military, political, environmental, sociological, scientific and technical data. All translated into English.

For a more comprehensive guide to newspapers available through the UVA Library please see the separate guide on newspapers.