LibGuides: Chemistry: Safety Data/Chemical Safety

General Sources / Best Practices

Prudent Practices in the Laboratory: Handling and Disposal of Chemicals (2011) Prudent Practices in the Laboratory--the book that has served for decades as the standard for chemical laboratory safety practice--now features updates and new topics. This revised edition has an expanded chapter on chemical management and delves into new areas, such as nanotechnology, laboratory security, and emergency planning. It provides guidance on planning procedures for the handling, storage, and disposal of chemicals. The book offers prudent practices designed to promote safety and includes practical information on assessing hazards, managing chemicals, disposing of wastes, and more.
Destruction of Hazardous Chemicals in the Laboratory
3rd ed. by George Lunn and Eric B. Sansone, 2012.
Hazard Assessment in Research Laboratories
This material is based on Identifying and Evaluating Hazards in Research Laboratories. These guidelines were published in 2015 by the Hazard Identification and Evaluation Task Force of the American Chemical Society’s Committee on Chemical Safety.
Creating Safety Cultures in Academic Institutions From ACS, the report provides guidance, suggestions, examples, and recommendations that will help strengthen the safety culture in two- and four-year undergraduate, graduate, and postdoctoral programs.
Safe Science: Promoting a Culture of Safety in Academic Chemical Research (2014) This report examines the culture of safety in research institutions and makes recommendations for university leadership, laboratory researchers, and environmental health and safety professionals to support safety as a core value of their institutions. The report discusses ways to fulfill that commitment through prioritizing funding for safety equipment and training, as well as making safety an ongoing operational priority.
Chemical process safety : fundamentals with applications
4th ed. by Daniel A. Crowl and Joseph F. Louvar, 2019.
CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety (5th ed.)
Brown Science and Engineering Library, Reference QD51 .C73 2000
...browse all Safety and Industrial Hygiene ebooks on Knovel

Finding safety information on particular chemicals

TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) [INACTIVE]
TOXNET was a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.
HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank) within PubChem
Now available within PubChem, HSDB is a factual database focusing on the toxicology of over 5,000 potentially hazardous chemicals. In addition to toxicity data, HSDB provides information in the areas of emergency handling procedures, industrial hygiene, environmental fate, human exposure, detection methods, and regulatory requirements. The data are fully referenced and peer-reviewed by a Scientific Review Panel composed of expert scientists.
CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System) [ARCHIVED]
[Archived, no longer updated.] A scientifically evaluated and fully referenced data bank, developed and maintained by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). It contains over 9,000 chemical records with carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition test results. Data are derived from studies cited in primary journals, current awareness tools, NCI reports, and other special sources. Test results have been reviewed by experts in carcinogenesis and mutagenesis.
Household Products Database
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
Hazardous Materials Field Guide (2nd ed., 2007)

Finding chemical reactivity information on particular chemicals

Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards (7th ed.) "...an assembly of all reported risks such as explosion, fire, toxic or high-energy events that result from chemical reactions gone astray, with extensive referencing to the primary literature."
Wiley Guide to Chemical Incompatibilities (3rd ed.)
Brown Science and Engineering Library, Reference T55.3 .H3 P647 2003
HazMat Data: For First Response, Transportation, Storage, and Security (2nd ed.)
Brown Science and Engineering Library, Reference T55.3 .H3 P643 2004
CAMEO Chemicals
Free database created by NOAA; includes a grid for reactivity. Also includes a wealth of other chemical safety information.

Chemicals and the environment

Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects (DOSE) (3rd ed.)
Handbook of Environmental Data on Organic Chemicals (2001)
Brown Science and Engineering Library, Reference TD196 .O73 V47 2001
Handbook of Green Chemicals (2nd ed.)
Groundwater Chemicals Desk Reference (4th ed., 2007)
Brown Science and Engineering Library, Reference TD426 .M66 2007

Chemistry

Safety and Environmental Quality at UVA

General Sources / Best Practices

Finding safety information on particular chemicals

Finding chemical reactivity information on particular chemicals

Chemicals and the environment

Organizations

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites