Demographic Data
The list of government resource below is not comprehensive. It is meant to convey the wealth of resources available from the U.S. government. Of course, see the Planning Subject Guide for more information on U.Va. Library resources.
- American Community Survey - U.S. CensusReplacing the decennial census "long form" this annual survey provides detailed data on the population, including income, education, race, sex, living situations, disabilities, and much more.
- American FactfinderPrimary Census tool for exploring the decennial census, American Community Survey, and economic censuses.
- Census BureauQuick Facts will give a demographic, economic and social overview of a state, county, or city. CenStats pulls together some often requested data collected by the Census.
- USA CountiesDemographic and housing information by county.
- Social ExplorerInteractive Maps and Reports provide easy access to demographic information about the United States. Data comes from the Census beginning in 1940 and from the Religious Congregations and Membership Study beginning in 1980.
Social Explorer contains much the same information as American Factfinder and is much easier to use.
Comments (0)
Labor & Employment
- Bureau of Labor Statistics - LaborUse the "Subject Areas" drop down to find information on the Consumer Price Index, American Time Use Survey, workplace injuries, unemployment and more. You can download some data. Their beta Geographic Home Page pulls together information by state.
- Department of LaborMuch more than the unemployment rate.
- On the Map - Local Employment Data - CensusA Local Employment Data Mapping program that will let you input whatever geographical area you want, and it will give you employment data for the people who live and work there. All the data can be downloaded for SPSS, etc. as well as for GIS. Includes user-friendly interface and usable help. See also the other Data Tools on the LED page.
- County Business Patterns - Commerce"County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets. Government agencies use the data for administration and planning."
Housing & Building
- Sustainable Housing and Communities - HUD"The mission of the Office of Sustainable Housing and Communities is to create strong, sustainable communities by connecting housing to jobs, fostering local innovation, and helping to build a clean energy economy." Resources include webinars, articles, and grant information.
- Housing - CensusPage links to many Commerce Department statistics on housing. The Commerce Dept. A-Z listing for Housing is also a good place to start. Side bar contains information on other aspects, such as building and building permits.
- Homes & Communities - HUDOnline library of publications from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development as well as other resources.
See particularly the Cities/Communities bookshelf.
Transportation & Land Use
- Transportation Research Board - National AcademiesTRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 940,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
- Transportation, Community, and System Preservation (TCSP) ProgramThe U.S. Department of Transportation offers grants to better integrate transportation into neighborhoods and communities.
- Federal Highway Administration - Planning, Environment , Realty (HEP)The HEP (Highway Planning) Office includes many links to transportation and planning resources. Included are such tools and resources as the Forecasting Land Use Activities Webinar Series and the Tool Kit for Integrating Land Use and Transportation Decision-Making.
Energy & Environment
- Energy DepartmentDoE's home page has a couple of energy calculators - "How Much Do You Spend?" and "How Much Do You Use?" There's also a "Find out about your Community?" which includes energy tax breaks, grants and other information.
- Environmental Protection AgencyEPA is the agency with primary responsibility for protecting our environment. It provides a number of specific tools for investigating and monitoring specific pollutants and dangers. A few of these tools are listed separately on this guide, but many more are available at EPA's website. The "My Environment" search on the home page offers a variety of environmental information by zip code. A Facility Search ("More Searches" under "MyEnvironment") offers even more data by zip code. Click on "More Topics" to see an A-Z list of topics, such as Green Building.
- Toxic Release Inventory"TRI is a database containing data on disposal or other releases of over 650 toxic chemicals from thousands of U.S. facilities and information about how facilities manage those chemicals through recycling, energy recovery, and treatment." A zip code search is available on this page. The Data & Tools provides a number of ways to research the TRI data.
- Underground Storage TanksOne of the specific hazards regulated by EPA. Individual states have primary authority over USTs. The site includes a Where You Live tool that provides information on state programs and contacts.
- EPA Superfund SitesInformation on Superfund sites and cleanup. A Superfund search is available. In addition to Superfund sites it list some non-Superfund cleanup efforts.
- Interior DepartmentBoth the Bureau of Land Management and the National Park Service are a part of Interior. The NPS oversees a Historic Preservation Planning Program. BLS oversees management of public lands, particularly in the west, for energy, grazing, recreation, rights-of-way, and other public uses.
- Geospatial Data Gateway - USDAPortal for GeoSpatial data to the county level for land use, elevation, conservation easements, etc.
- Food Deserts - USDA"Food deserts are defined as urban neighborhoods and rural towns without ready access to fresh, healthy, and affordable food." The USDA is working to identify and assist these areas. Their Food Desert Locator Tool maps and provides economic and demographic information for known "food deserts."
Education & Crime
- Uniform Crime Reports - FBIThe Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet a need for reliable, uniform crime statistics for the nation. In 1930, the FBI was tasked with collecting, publishing, and archiving those statistics. Today, several annual statistical publications, such as the comprehensive Crime in the United States, are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.
See Table 4 for City & County data. - National Center for Education StatisticsThe NCES offers many data tools and resources, including State and District Profiles, the Digest of Education Statistics, and many surveys containing data and statistics at all educational levels.
General Stats, Regs, Grants
- FedStatsFinding aid for statistics produced by the U.S. Government. Search by topic, agency, or geographic region.
- Grants.govInformation all grants and other funding opportunities available from the federal government. Clink on "Find Grant Opportunities" to search, browse by category, and browse by agency.
- Regulations.govFind out about new federal regulations that might affect planning activities.
Virginia & Local Governments
State & local governments oversee zoning and other land use matters. This is not a comprehensive list.
- Virginia Economic Development PartnershipState governments can also be involved in land use and planning issues. For instance, the Virginia Economic Development Partnership site includes Community Profiles and a Site Selection tool.
- Albemarle Community DevelopementLand use and, especially, zoning are handled at the local level.
- City of Charlottesville Real Estate Assessment DatabaseSearch for residential property values (homes and land) for Charlottesville by address or name. Includes the C'ville GIS mapping feature. From the City Assessor's Office. Search for the same information in the Albemarle County database
- Charlottesville Neighborhood Development ServicesZoning and planning in C'ville fall under this area.
- Virginia Department of TransportationIncludes resources like the Virginia Traffic Data
- Virginia Regulatory Town HallFind out about new Virginia regulations.
- Weldon Cooper Center for Public ServiceThe Cooper Center is well known for its statistical analysis of Virginia's population, labor force, economic climate, etc. See their Research & Analysis page.
- Thomas Jefferson Planning DistrictRegional agency overseeing planning for Charlottesville, Albemarle, Fluvanna, Greene, and Nelson counties.
Contact Information |
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Contact Info Alderman Library Reference Room, 4th floor University of Virginia 434-982-2677 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Loading...
