Admin Sign In 

CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports 

Last update: Aug 25th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/crs  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

CRS Reposts

The Library of Congress Congressional Research Service does research and writes report specifically for Congress. These reports are not normally distributed to depository libraries like Alderman, but there are some possibilities for finding them at UVA. Please be sure to consult with Government Information staff for more help in finding CRS reports.

CRS reports can also usually be obtained by contacting one's Representative or Senator. That usually takes about two weeks. So, do check with us first. We can probably get it for you more quickly. A very good overview of CRS and its reports can be found at LLRX.com.

You can write to your Representative or Senator to request a copy of a current CRS report.

LexisNexis Congressional - Indexes many CRS reports. Includes full text from 2004 forward.

OpenCRS.com - Center for Democracy & Technology
CRS reports available on the web.

Major studies & issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service
Law Library - Microfiche & Microfilm
SST .L6973
This set of film and fiche contains many, not all, of the CRS reports since 1916. The reports and issue briefs are numbered in a variety of ways - RS5647 or RL23567 or IB3950 or 93-1010-F. The reports in this collection are not indexed separately in VIRGO. Paper indexes to these are available in the Law Library Microforms Reference area.

University of North Texas Libraries
http://digital.library.unt.edu/govdocs/crs/
UNT provides access to CRS reports that were ever made available on the internet. Begins around 1990. About 6500 reports available (06/2005).

Penny Hill Press
www.pennyhill.com
Penny Hill Press indexes and sells many CRS reports. They are catagorized under broad subjects like "terrorism" or "foreign aid." The reports are not available in full text on the internet from Penny Hill.

CRS Reports by Topic from the Thurgood Marshall Law Library

CRS reports via GOOGLE
GOOGLE comes to the rescue again. This version of the GOOGLE search engine searches only full text CRS reports available on the web. So, while this search won't find the listings of CRS reports on Penny Hill it will find CRS reports that are in full text on the internet.

CRS Reports on National Security & Military Issues
Federation of American Scientists
The FAS links to many government publications, including CRS reports. This is a great site to use to find hard to find government reports.

CRS Reports on Legislative & Budget Issues
House Rules Committee
The House Rules Committee links to many CRS reports on budget and finance.

 

Contact Information

Profile ImageBarbie Selby
Contact Info:
Alderman Library
Room 511
University of Virginia
434-982-2677
Send Email

Subjects:
Government Information, Sociology

Tips

More Information

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait