Admin Sign In 

EVSC 4559/7559 

Geology and Ecology of US Ore Deposits
Last update: Sep 15th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/evsc4559_7559  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles and Quick Links            Print Page
  

Best Economic Geology Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics.
  • Compendex (EiCompendex Plus)  
    1964-present
    A large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews.
  • CSA Illumina (Natural Sciences Subject Area)  
      
    1973-present
    Over 40 science and technology databases in all subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple CSA databases at the same time (e.g. Natural Sciences).
  • Digital Dissertations  
      
    1861-present
    Full text (PDF for download) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some international universities.
  • Geobase  
      
    1980-present
    International information from 5000 journals. Books, theses, maps, reports in geography, geology, ecology. Includes book reviews.
  • GeoRef  
      
    1693-present
    Search for all types of publications on the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. This search also includes international publications from GeoRef in Process.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
  • ScienceDirect  
      
    Full text of articles from journals published by Elsevier Science.
  • Web of Science/Web of Knowledge  
      
    1970-present
    Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-present) which can be searched together or separately.
  • WorldCat  
    Online listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. This version has all WorldCat holdings and provides the full bibliographic citation for each item.

Government Information

  • The US government is a rich source of information on domestic ores.  In particular, you should explore the entire US Geological Service website.  Below are a few links to get you started. 
  • In addition, the Environmental Protection Agency is going to have reports which may provide additional useful information, not to mention the Environmental Impact Statements (1969+), Toxic Release Inventories etc. 
  • Lastly, make sure to check State resources and publications (Department of Natural Resources (or similarly titles department).  States will often have state-sponsored research and publications related to mineral ores.
 

Subject Librarian

Rebecca Pappert, Librarian for Life Sciences


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Brown Sci & Eng Library
Room: I044
434-924-3845
Email: rap8k@virginia.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Biology, Psychology, Environmental Sciences

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait