Top Kinesiology Databases
- Medline (medical EBSCO interface)
- Medline (medical OVID interface)
- Physical Education Index
- PubMed (medical)
- Search 3 databases simultaneouslySportDiscus, Medline, Psyc & Behavioral Science
- Sport Discus
- Web of Science
Kinesiology Related Databases
- CINAHL (nursing)
- Google Scholar
- PubGET
- Science Direct
- PsycInfoEducation and psychology journals are included as well as chapters form psychology books.
Journal Finder
- Journal FinderUse the Journal Finder to find out if UVa has a journal online fulltext or in print format,
Enter the title of the journal in the 2nd search box in the Journal Finder to determine if it is available online.
Enter the title of the journal in the 1st search box in the Journal Finder to see if it is in print. If it is and you are taking classes on-Grounds, you would need to go to the library to get the journal. If you are enrolled in the Curry Distance Education program, you can request a digital copy of the article using the library's interlibrary loan service.
Dissertations
If you need a copy of a issertation that is not available online full text, you can use the Library's free Interlibrary Loan Service to try and obtain a copy.
In addition to the databases below, you can also locate dissertations that are distributed as open access dissertations by searching Google using the the title, author. or keyword although identifying a dissertation from the retrieved results is a bit challenging due to the lack of meta tagging..
- Dissertations & Thesis PROQUESTFull text (PDF) of most U.S. dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
- Association of African UniversitiesThere have been technical difficulties originating with this database.
- Australian Digital Theses (dissertations)There have been technical difficulties originating with this database.
- Center for Research Libraries (Dissertations from around the world. UVa is a member of CRL)
- CyberThesis (French)
- Dart Europe
- EThOs
- Index to Theses (United Kingdom and Ireland)
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
- Open Thesis
- Theses (Dissertations) Canada
Handbooks
The CLIC has a collection of more than 300 handbooks. BE sure to check here as new handbooks are added periodically. Handbooks are a great resource for locating best practices, research theories, names of authors, background material, overviews of topics, and good keyword terminology to use when you search databases for journal articles and other materials to inform and support your research.
The handbooks are located to the right of the door as you enter the CLIC. You cannot check out handbooks; however you can scan (free if you use the digital sender in the CLIC) or photocopy them for 8 cents per page using the public printer in the CLIC and your Cavalier debit card
Sample Handbooks
- Handbook of Physical EducationCLIC Handbook Area: GV 207.3 .H36 2006
Table of Contents - Handbook of Research in Applied Sport and Exercise Psychology: International PerspectivesCLIC Handbook Area: GV 706.4 .H363 2005
Table of contents - Handbook of Sport Psychology, 2nd & 3rd eds.
Books
- VIRGO
- List of books about Kinesiology in VIRGO
- List of books about Sports Medicine in VIRGO
- Google BooksSome Google books are full text, while others allow searching within the book by keyword which can be very useful
Kinesiology Journals
Associations & Organizations
The web sites for associations or organizations frequently have links to the journals and other publications they produced. They may provide career information, have blogs, post videos, promote conferences, and provide information about student memberships in their associations. They also provide instructions for authors who wish to submit articles to their journals for publications.
- AAHPERD: American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
- AASP: Association for Applied Sport Psychology
- ACSM: American College of Sports Medicine
- AKA: American Kinesiology Association
- APTA: American Physical Therapy Association
- Clinical Exercise Physiology Association
- Top Physical Therapy Associations
- National Athletic Trainers Association
Peer Reviewed Journals: Definitions
- What is a peer reviewed journal?
- Limit your database search to peer reviewed journals
- Use Google to find out if a journal is peer reviewedGo to Google, type in the journal title, look for the link leading to the journal publisher's website. Info about peer review is often located in AUTHOR instructions or in the MISSION statement on that page.
Scientific Method
Plagiarism
APA Style
You will need to write your research paper using a consistent bibliographic style. Curry students usually are assigned to use APA style. However, other styles are also available.
You can learn to use RefWorks citation software by contacting a CLIC librarian at 434-924-7040. RefWorks automatically generates, for example, APA formatted citations. You can also elect to write the citations in the style you have been assigned to use, In either case, the links below should prove useful.
- APA Blog
- APA Guide by Hacker and Fister
- Purdue University's APA Owl Guide
- RefWorks LOGIN
- EBSCO Database Creates APA CitationsA step-by-step tutorial on how to search 7 Ebsco Education databases and either print, email or save the citation into APA style.
- APA's Basics of Writing an APA Paper
- Locating DOIs for your APA References You can paste in one reference at a time or mutlitples. Read the instructions carefully to avoid errors.
Questions? Monday - Friday 8am-5pm
Ask Your Curry Librarians
Need help finding information for a research project or have questions about borrowing library books? Contact us. We are happy to help with any questions about research or library services.
CALL: Kay Buchanan 434-982-2664
CALL: Carole Lohman 434-924-7040
EMAIL: Email the Curry Librarians
- CHATChat requires JavaScript.
Questions? Evenings and Weekends
Ask a U.Va. Librarian
- CHAT with a U.Va. Librarian
- Call a U.Va Librarian434.260.1882
ITS Technology Help "Desk": Available 24/7
- Ways to Contact the ITS Help Desk
- CHAT with the Help Desk Staff
- PHONE TOLL FREE 24 Hours a Day, 7 Days a Week866-469-4866
- ITS Help Desk: Online Request Form
Library Services
- Accounts you need at U.Va.
- Interlibrary Loan ServiceIf none of the U.Va. libraries have the journal or book you need in print or online, use the Library's free Interlibrary Loan Service request form to request it. You must register first. Students and faculty in the Curry Off-Grounds program should register by clicking on the "Distance Education/SCPS link. Other students should register using the "Graduate & Undergraduate student" link.
The library will get a PDF copy of the journal article or a book chapter, for example and email it to you. If you request a book, you will be sent an email once it is available for you to pick up from the U.Va. library that you designated as your pickup library. If you are in the off-Grounds program, the book will be mailed to you without charge and you will need to pay return postage and mail it back, or you can drop it off at one of the U.Va. libraries. - Library Hours
- Printing and Photocopying
- RefWorksIf you are off-Grounds, we recommend that you install and connect to the databases and RefWorks using VPN UVaAnywhere as opposed to just connecting through Netbadge as there have been issues with the transfer of the citations.
1. Tutorials and more - Renew Your Library Books
- Scanning in the CLIC
Other Research Subject Guides
The librarians have created many research guides to help you find resources for your research papers, journal articles you are writing, etc.
Overview
This guide was developed by the CLIC librarians to support Kinesiology classes at the U.Va. Curry School of Education.
Updated 1/18/2013
Please give us suggestions to improve this guide!
Please give us suggestions to improve this guide!

Loading...
