LibGuides: Latin American & Iberian Studies: Home

Understanding Latin American & Iberian	Researching Latin American & Iberian

Encyclopedias & General Sources [Concise overviews on a wide variety of topics]	ARTICLES (How to find) [Databases, Gateways & Portals that let you search about your topic in periodicals, edited books, webs, and elsewhere]
Readers, Companions, & Handbooks [can assist with developing topic's comprehension]	BOOKS (How to identify & locate) [Besides Virgo, how can you find out if a book exists on your topic? You can search different online global catalogs.]
Language Acquisition [Dictionaries, Manuals, Grammar, etc.]	eBOOKS (How to find) [Commercial & Open Access databases to find eBooks]
__________________________________________________________ Finding basic but essential information	__________________________________________________________ Mass Media, Newspapers & News
Bio-bibliographies and Biographies [Finding biographies of people & lists of materials in a subject]	CURRENT NEWS [Databases to research contemporary newspapers, radios, etc]
Dissertations & PhD Thesis [Finding other PhD thesis in your topic]	NEWS & NEWSPAPERS ARCHIVES [Organized Geographically by Region]
Statistics & Country Data [Finding basic Info & Statistics about any related country]	__________________________________________________________ Primary Sources & Historical Documents
Archives: How to locate & research [Finding Archives when working with primary sources]	BY COUNTRY [Organized Geographically by Country]
Searching for funding, mentoring & support [Tools to find research funding on and off campus]	MAPS [Databases to search historical maps]
	LACLI: A Web Resource Discovery [warehouse of online free e-resources]

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Specific Geographical Areas:

Catalan Studies

Galician Studies

Greater Caribbean

Latinx Studies

Portuguese Studies

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Specific Subjects related to Latin American and Iberian Studies:

Aljamiado or Aljamia Texts		Colonial Studies
Film Studies		Human Rights in Latin America
Indigenous Cultures		Language & Literature
Linguistics (Spanish)		Philosophy
Translation Studies		Politics (including U.S. - Latin American Relations)
Visual Arts, Architecture and Performing Arts		Women's, Gender, & LGBT Studies

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

This Research Guide includes collections about Latin America, Caribbean, Portugal and Spain held in the University of Virginia libraries.

Its main purpose is to support UVA students, faculty, and researchers in courses, programs and research initiatives that focus on these regions and on the study of global processes and topics.

We hope this Guide will serve you as a useful door for these related UVA collections.

If you have questions, or suggestions, please email:
Miguel A. Valladares Llata (mav4n@virginia.edu)

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Latin American & Iberian Studies

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites