Middle East Studies

Lists articles on all aspects of religious studies from journals in many disciplines. Includes citations to book chapters and to book reviews. ATLASerials adds the full text of many journals.

Brockelmann Online consists of both original volumes Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur (GAL) by Carl Brockelmann (1868-1956), as well as the three supplement volumes, including the indexes. Brockelmann’s Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. This originally multivolume reference work is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author’s works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature

Full text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.

See also Finding Dissertations

Encyclopaedia Islamica Online is based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. A unique feature of the Encyclopaedia Islamica Online lies in the attention given to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, Encyclopaedia Islamica Online offers the Western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shiʿi Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilization, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition.

Comprehensive encyclopedia with over 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.

The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is cross-searchable and cross-referenced, and is equipped with a browsable index. All relevant fields in Arabic linguistics, both general and language specific are covered and the Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online includes topics from interdisciplinary fields, such as anthropology, psychology, sociology, philosophy, and computer science.

Begun in 1954 with the letter A and completed in 2004 with a supplement to the entire work, EI2 is a unique and invaluable reference tool for understanding the world of Islam broadly defined. Containing largely original research by leading scholars, many articles are very long and all contain bibliographies for further research. EI2 supersedes the first Encyclopaedia of Islam (EI1) although some of its articles were reused with minor updating. Since the project was completed in alphabetical order over 50 years, the last letters are much more up-to-date than the first ones. EI2 is essential because of its scholarly depth, but should be used in conjunction with EI3 and other, more recent scholarship.

The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new and still unfinished work. It aims to provide short, up-to-date and accessible articles on many topics which are either not covered in EI2, or for which the EI2 articles are outdated. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world. EI3 does not replace EI2, which is more detailed and still authoritative; rather, the two should be used together.

From Europe to America to the Middle East, North Africa and other non-European Jewish settlement areas, the Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture covers the recent history of the Jews from 1750 until the 1950s.

Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, including Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Articles on each country detail its population, economy and government.

Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.

Search for books and articles in periodicals about Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews.

JSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research

Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s.

A selective bibliography of scholarly articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages in all fields of Jewish studies and the study of Israel.

Sezgin Online: A bio-bibliography for the Arabic literary tradition offers volumes 1-9 of Fuat Sezgin's renowned Geschichte des arabischen Schrifttums (GAS), the largest bio-bibliography for the Arabic literary tradition, particularly for the history of science and technology in the Islamic world.

Online listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. Some UVa books are not included. UVa users will see full records and holdings; others will get brief information.

Online catalog of books and other materials in thousands of libraries in North America and some other countries.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this archive documents the American consulate in Tripoli. Included are correspondences of Secretary of State James Madison during the Tripolitan War, 1801-1805, between the United States and the piratical North African Barbary States.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this archive reveals more than a century of U.S.-Morocco relations and includes, among various documents, correspondences from U.S. ministers in Tangier and Tetuan.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection covers U.S. perspectives on Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, and Trans-Jordan, from Ottoman rule to the era of British and French mandates following the First World War.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the records offered here provide invaluable information on social conditions in Persia (renamed Iran in 1935) and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the records in this database provide invaluable information on social conditions in Greater Syria and Lebanon and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the documents in this collection are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the documents in this collection on Iran are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the database includes documents about Iraq, from Ottoman rule through British colonial occupation and independence, from the perspective of the United States.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this database offers the widest range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-1932 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970- offers the widest range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office, and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1971.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Beirut.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Jerusalem.

This collection addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia.

Over 35,000 declassified documents used in foreign policy decision-making by the U.S. government. Includes some photographs. These documents have been gathered since 1985 through the use of the Freedom of Information Act by the National Security Archive.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the documents in this collection on Saudi Arabia are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. This archive divides into two parts. The first part, 1930-1944, documents a critical period in the formation of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia; the second part, 1955-1959, illustrates the day-to-day workings of Saudi Arabia.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this archive traces the vitally important period that saw the end of the British mandate in Palestine.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the collection includes records of the U.S. Operations Mission’s experiences in Saudi Arabia.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection discusses aid between the U.S. and Iraq in the 1950s. The bulk of assistance was directed towards improving agricultural methods, but much also was achieved in such areas as preventive medicine, education, and administrative improvement.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, there is essential and unique documentation on a wide variety of topics relating to Moroccan internal affairs in this collection.

Morocco’s strategic location has shaped its history. After gaining independence in 1956, Morocco made great strides toward economic and political liberalization. The sultan Muhammad V, ruling his newly independent nation, proclaimed his intention of turning it into a constitutional monarchy. The Moroccan government undertook a number of economic, social, and political reforms, including the drafting of a constitution. There is essential and unique documentation on a wide variety of topics relating to Moroccan internal affairs.

Searchable collection of over 70,000 scanned declassified U.S. documents from the 1940s onwards taken from presidential libraries, the CIA, the FBI and other agencies. Covers the Cold War, Vietnam, the civil rights movement and other events.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection comprises materials related to the planning and organization of the October 1991 Middle East Peace Conference in Madrid. It consists of correspondence, memoranda, cables, diplomatic dispatches, reports, studies, maps, and printed material which document all aspects of staging the conference as well as the conference itself.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection contains Bush Presidential Records from a variety of White House offices.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this archive is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State and includes correspondences from U.S. Consults in Alexandretta, Ezerum, Harput, Siva, and Smyrna.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, these documents highlight the structure and activities of the Persian Gulf States’ and Yemen’s political system, government, judiciary, laws, military, customs, economy, finance, agriculture, natural resources, industry, communications, and media.

Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection contains materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the United States (as part of a multi-national force) to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait on August 2, 1990.