Best Databases for Dams & Poverty Project
All Potential Databases
- Academic Search Complete
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. - Anthropology Plus
1890-present - Biological Abstracts
1985-present
Provides international coverage in areas such as genetics, botany, ecology, biomedicine, zoology, microbiology, and biochemistry.
Citations to articles, books, software, etc. in the primary areas of agriculture and the life sciences. - CAB Direct
1973-present
Searches peer-reviewed journals, academic books, technical reports, bulletins, and conference proceedings in the life sciences: agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health and the conservation of natural resources. - Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) - Natural Sciences
1973-present
Over 40 science and technology databases in all subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple CSA databases at the same time (e.g. Natural Sciences). - Digital Dissertations
1861-present
Full text (PDF for download) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some international universities. - EPA Publications Search
A central repository of more than 26,000 EPA documents in paper and/or electronic format; available for free distribution.. - GEOBASE
1980-present
International information from 5000 journals, books, theses, maps, reports in geography, geology, ecology. Includes book reviews. - GeoRef
1693-present
Search for all types of publications on the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. This search also includes international publications from GeoRef in Process. - Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF)
Searchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world. Produced by a Yale-based consortium of educational, research, and cultural organizations and government agencies. - JSTOR
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. - LexisNexis Statistical
Statistical information of all kinds, current and historical, US and international. - National Library for the Environment
A gateway to a wide array of environmental information – Congressional Research Service reports, news, educational resources, and more. - PAIS International
1915-present
International database covering public and social policy. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, and reports from organizations and abstracts from 1985. - POPLINE
Legal, social and health aspects of family planning and population. Includes research in human fertility, contraceptive methods, maternal and child health care, program operation and evaluation, demography and related issues. - ScienceDirect
Full text of articles from journals published by Elsevier Science. - Social Sciences Subject Area (CSA - suite of databases)
Search for journal articles in many social science areas including world and US politics, sociology, economics, education, government and social policy, law enforcement. - SourceOECD
Full text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). - SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
SSRN facilitates rapid distribution of research and working papers. Excellent place to look for new and current research. - Web of Science/Web of Knowledge
1970-present
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-present) which can be searched together or separately.
Subject Librarian |
Rebecca Pappert, Librarian for Life SciencesOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Brown Sci & Eng Library
Room: I044
434-924-3845
Email: rap8k@virginia.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Psychology, Environmental Sciences
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Brown Sci & Eng Library
Room: I044
434-924-3845
Email: rap8k@virginia.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Psychology, Environmental Sciences
Description
Loading content... please wait








Loading content... please wait