Welcome
Welcome to the dashboard for AAS 2500: Black Genders. This guide provides quick links to the resources that will be most helpful to you as you complete the annotated bibliography and research paper for this course.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Erin Pappas
Erin can help with: locating academic sources, brainstorming research topics, developing search strategies, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your research and literature reviews, and citation management. Meetings take place online via Zoom.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Chris Ruotolo
Chris can help with: learning how to use the Library's online catalog and databases, finding books and journal articles in print and electronic format, refining your research topic and your search strategies, and managing your citations. She can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Search Virgo
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. Start with these databases below for preliminary searching. A complete list of databases for African American Studies can be found in our A-Z database list, and a comprehensive guide to library resources can be found on our African American Studies subject guide.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA subset of the larger ProQuest Historical Newspapers, this is a collection of several prominent black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, Baltimore Afro-American, and NY Amsterdam News.
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new windowThis primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. The content in this database is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.
- Ebony Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowEbony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.
- Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowContains the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines in the 20th century. Coverage includes Essence Magazine from 1970-2005.
- Women and Social Movements This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. See Social Collections page for links to specific collections, e.g. on anti-slavery and anti-lynching groups, or use Search page to limit results to African-American authors/topics of interest.
Download research software
- ZoteroTo download the library's recommended citation manager, follow the instructions on the Zotero guide.